12:00 p.m. - 2002-10-12
Take Stock, Show & Prove

Take Stock, Show & Prove

Mentally I�m geared up, wired, high strung. You get the picture. I have a list of items I need to accomplish, and a limited amount of time to do it all in.

In my mind, I�m formulating, revising and organizing my blue print for returning to college. This time around I wish to study Radio, Television and Film � Broadcast Journalism. Why?! It interests and fascinates me. And most importantly because I want to.

About me: I�m 100%: Either blazing passion or iceberg � there is little grey area with me. I pride myself on not being wishy-washy. As far as Journalism goes, chalk that one up on the side of blazing passion. Most definitely.

Oh yeah, nearly forgot � the blue print is in a constant state of construction and revision. That�s another vital nugget about me. Subject to change. Variation & diversity is one of the key elements to holding my interest.

When did [I] you fall in love with hip-hop?

Ant and I went to see the opening of Brown Sugar. I thoroughly enjoyed the film; I think he did too. Ant had the soundtrack so he bumped that CD in his car to and from the theater. I liked it.

In answer to the question, the year was 1984, Landstuhl, West Germany. Kurtis Blow was playing basketball, and Grand Master Flash and the Furious 5 were pumped from every boom box in housing. I was learning how to pop, lock, break, make mix tapes and scratch on turntables. Yes, I was a tomboy, and yes I still am a tomboy. My friends then were all males, ranging in ages, yes, some were younger than me, they helped me develop my game. They made me into one fierce defensive player. They checked hard, they pushed, they hit, they gave their all no matter who we played on the court. �Basketball was my favorite sport, I love the way they dribble up and down the court.� They�re playin b-a-s-k-e-t-b-a-l-l-, we love that b-a-s-k-e�t-b-a-l-l-. Rap got into my blood and it stuck with me. We grew up together. As part of the Landstuhl Lockers I developed my love for beats, and my intense love for dancing.

I spent the weekend in Alabama, visiting Ant. This man is impressive. He�s a Cum Laude graduate, a Kappa, and above all else a gentleman. Because of him, I had the opportunity to experience Southern Hospitality, deep south style. Maryland can�t compare. Sadly we could learn a thing or two from our neighbors South of the Mason-Dixon.

Ant went out of his way to show me Birmingham. Not limited to, and including the Civil Rights Institute. If you�ve never been, GO! I was educated, provoked, inspired and in awe. If you have any doubts about how blessed we are, how many freedoms and liberties we have go and get yourself educated and have this experience.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -