4:34 p.m. - 2003-03-11
Sleeplessness

Sleeplessness

I was violently rousted, from slumber, AGAIN, by the sounds of seemingly low flying, F-15s and F-16s, deployed from Andrews Air Force Base, in Camp Springs/Morningside, MD.

Nocturnal, mock training flight missions, becoming the norm, I find that I need to develop some effective coping mechanisms, in order to combat noise, and the accompanying feelings of helplessness, fear and panic I feel enveloped by.

Since I�ve stopped using the word �hate�. I admit that I strongly dislike being awakened this way.

I have not been officially diagnosed with Panic Disorder, but fly bys and night missions are making me feel what I think are panic attacks.

I have only recently learned how to sleep through the night.

I am concerned, because I am aware that panic in and of itself, whether in the form of organized panic disorder or individual panic attacks; neither is not to be dismissed in a laissez faire fashion.

I don�t want to develop an organized panic response <�thinking to self �as if I have a choice in the matter��> or panic disorder, because I happen to reside in the flight path of Andrews AFB.

Now that I think about it, it may be too late, as I do experience feelings of panic when I hear low flying air craft overhead.

To clarify, what I�m trying to say, is that I don�t want to be immobilized by fear or panic, or both, when I happen to hear aircraft overhead. *Whew*

What do I do, when I am awakened by sounds of air craft?...I breathe deeply and slowly. I pray. I visualize my favorite spot on the beach in Grand Cayman, or I recollect the days I spent in my dad�s hammock, 2 summers ago. These memories are comforting and vivid, I find that my mind is able to transport me back to those places with ease. If none of that works, I tell myself, aloud, that I am going to be okay, and I keep praying. Usually I am able to drift back to sleep in a very peaceful way.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -