4:35 p.m. - 2003-03-12
2103hrs

2103hrs

As if Tuesday�s interrupted slumber weren�t bad enough, I received a final call, from L, who wanted to inform me that he and his unit are deploying overseas. His exact words �I wanted to call and let you know that we are going across the water.� He sounded labored, strained, but ready and confident. He has trained long and hard for this, and this is his opportunity to apply his knowledge demonstrate his readiness.

Try as I may, I was never able to get back to REM sleep. My mind had been activated.

Despite the fact that I am now a member of the civilian community, I take no comfort, in the use and familiarity, of military jargon, concepts and training strategies about readiness and the use of knowledge � War does not sit well with me.

*sigh*

This is personal, close to home, too close for my liking.

The reality of life, and truth of the matter, is:

this isn�t about my comfort,

this isn�t about my liking,

this isn�t about my choosing.

We may well be, at war, in a few short days.

This is one subject, in which personal peace eludes me.

I have had numerous discussions,

I�ve written about it,

I�ve prayed about it,

�yet I find that I keep coming back to Square 1.

May God Protect Us All, and Have Mercy Upon Us All

><>


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -