9:00 a.m. - 2004-01-8
Resignation

Today I tendered my resignation.

It took my manager and team completely by surprise.

I had been entertaining an offer from here .

My official start date is Monday January 26th.

I will be working 0700 to 1530 hrs. I am a member of the grants process.

I was interviewed by the entire staff of PhDs and the Admins, whom I�ll be helping support. I found this interesting. This is the very first time I�ve ever interviewed in a team setting.

They READ my vitae. I sat stunned for a moment. Quickly gathered myself then answered their questions.

My new team is very animated. They talked all at once and over top of each other, they laughed and they scolded each other � all while we were trying to conduct the interview.

There were 5 men, and 4 women. I even things up for the females making it 5 to 5 � the females made a point of mentioning that to everyone in the room. Girl Power!

Also there are a number of nationalities represented. Wow! I am happy, encouraged and just ready to do the �Oh what a feeling to drive a Toyota� leap. I managed to stay calm and composed, smiled often and laughed quite a bit. I told you the team is animated.

One of the PhDs speaks German. Cool. I spoke to her in German. She beamed. The lead director said we were not allowed to talk secret talk in German; the entire room erupted in laughter.

I am going from an environment where production is everything. Every second means money; to an environment where they take time to look at pictures of each other�s children, grand children etc.

I almost want to weep.

My school has a campus 10 minutes away.

The lead director has stated that I can have flex scheduling to accommodate my studies.

When asked what my 2 � 5 year goals were. I paused, cleared my throat and proudly stated that I�d like to have a PhD or two of my own. Every face lit up. Each began talking � I have a team of multi-disciplined PhDs waiting to help me with my own PhD endeavor.

Somebody pinch me already.

The hardest thing will be working 2 weeks for my firm. Tough times are ahead.

I am thinking this one thought: "Tough times don�t last, tough people do."

I think Zig Ziegler said that. Don�t quote me, because right now I�m sleep deprived, hallucinating and � way out my mind.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -