11:02 p.m. - 2003-12-03
Research

I did my �homework�, before meeting with BF this morning.

I didn�t give much thought to the research I had done. It in fact, seemed to me, to be the natural thing to do.

I shared with BF, that I�d researched her, on the internet, prior to our morning meeting.

Why did I do that?

Simple.

I wanted to know with whom I was doing business with.

I wanted to know her / her firm�s track record.

I wanted a foundational body of knowledge, which would put me at ease and maybe perhaps give me a sense of confidence, prior to our meeting.

BF was not the only one conducting an interview. I�d interviewed her and her firm; without her knowing it � until I shared that fact with her.

Not to be cocky or arrogant, the truth of the matter is that I feel I have something to loose.

My current position may not be the cat�s pajamas; however it is mine, as such I take it quite seriously, not to mention I have financial responsibilities to look after.

BF was pleasantly surprised I�d taken the time to do my research or �homework� as I�d referred to it.

What was surprising to me, is that she revealed no other applicant had ever done that before, nor had any applicant ever made mention, of checking her and her firm out prior to meeting with her.

I couldn�t help but think in my head �why not?� and �what kinds of people are you talking about here?� I resisted the temptation to pose my questions, after all what others did or do, was not relevant here. Our meeting was about my future and me.

To say that my initial disclosure set a highly positive tone for my interaction with BF understatement.

She conducted the shortest interview ever.

I came away feeling renewed and energized, unlike any other time in my life.

In a nutshell she believed in me.

Our meeting reminded me, that it�s okay for me to believe in myself.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -