1:44 p.m. - 2003-12-15
One Long Tire Story with a Happy Ending

Question: What beats a failure?

Answer: A try.

When: This past Friday evening I'd purchased four new tires for The Green Machine.

Why: I was afraid of the impending weekend weather forecast. I also knew full well I was pushing it, with the condition of The Green Machine�s current tires.

So: I went to NTB to purchase four tires. After the installation, I gave it not a single thought and drove home directly.

And: Saturday morning I awoke ahead of schedule, for my Marketing exam I decided to check my past paperwork for previous tire purchases.

Then: Egad! The realization that I'd purchased 205s for The Green Machine last year.

What Next: I drove to school, The Green Machine handled perfectly. The tires felt �funny�.

Why: Option 1- Something is wrong with me. Option 2 � the tires are smaller, in fact they are 195 profiles.

So: The current tires are smaller than the tires I was driving on as of Friday night. The traction is perfect, the handling is perfect. The steering wheel seems to have too much play. I wondered if the tires were over-inflated or if the smaller tire profile which essentially means less rubber on the road, or if the problem is just plain old spoiled me.

So what now?: I'm having serious misgivings about the four tires I purchased. So much so I can�t see myself driving on these 195s for a year. I am sitting in my office wondering to myself if I can return these 195s, and trade them up for four new 205s?

* * *

Then?:...Calling NTB store in College Park, asking to speak with the Manager...I make a point to identify myself, then compliment the shop technicians. While speaking with Brian, the manager I observe and note that he was chatty, and pleasant.

He chuckles when I tell him the 195s feel �funny�. I can tell by his chuckle he totally understands what I�m trying to say.

So?: I ask for Yokahamas in 205 profile, Brian replies that he doesn�t have any.

Then?: I ask for Falkens in 205 profile, again Brian replies he doesn�t have any.

Now what?!: I sit for a moment in silence. Brian says �I�ve got some Fuldas I think you�d like, given that you seem to know your tires.�

I�m smiling. I reply �Brian I�m really sorry, I made such a stupid mistake, your shop personnel were really great, can you help me?�

Brian pauses I think this was for affect/effect? Then he smiles into the phone and says �Ordinarily I could not help you but we are working with new tire distributors.� He then asks me how long I�ve been his customer? I reply �four years�. He asks �How many tires have you purchased from us in those four years?� I reply �four tires every single time.�

Brian is smiling. I sit thinking �so now what?� (I didn�t say it, just thought it), he says, �come on down and I�ll have Jason take care of you.�

I thanked Brian, hung the phone up, jotted down Jason�s name on a post-it note then said �Thank you God�.

I am going to go on record as a nimrod. I had no idea that 195 profile was so different from 205.

The reality is that I can never drive on a tire with a profile less than 205.

This is one lesson I will never forget.

Brian is one �ber nice guy.

I also learned it never hurts to ask if you've got options.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -