10:00 p.m. - 2002-12-06
Not Exactly Visions of Sugarplums�

Not Exactly Visions of Sugarplums�

The snow never abated Thursday, as a result I didn�t have an opportunity to take the �winter� photos I�d envisioned. I completed my work at the office, at 1530hrs., using my discretion, I opted to drive home, while there was still daylight. The commute home took 2 hrs. During which I distracted myself with thoughts of the heavenly dinner I�d shared this past Wednesday evening, with S* and her children.

Asean Bistro . It was S�s* treat - her way of spending quality time, and saying thank you , for what I�d done during Michael�s* viewing.

Honestly, she didn�t have to take me out, nor did she have to thank me. But she�d made up her mind, and you know what they say about a woman whose mind is made up�

My philosophy is that Friends support one another when needed, without having to be asked nor directed on doing the work one�s heart knows needs doing.

What can I tell you about this woman, who does not cease to blow my mind? She�s extraordinary. One who is simply beyond any other I�ve ever met. I can�t adequately describe how lucky and blessed I feel that she�s in my life and that she�s my friend, and that she�s got my back. What did I ever do in this or any other past life time to deserve this? Whatever it was or is, Thanks be to God for S*.

Gentle, kind, loving and strong, ever so much more than a mom. She gives exactly what I need, when I need, without me uttering one word.

Dinner began with Asean�s signature Chrysanthemum tea. Lovely, delicately and perfectly scented and equally intoxicating. I�d never tasted any tea like it before. It was a yummy experience. The gentle floral bouquet filled the area encompassed by our extended table. Each sip transported me far far away. Reminds me of the travels of Edmund and Lucy, in the books, The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. S* observed and later remarked on how much I needed to spend time relaxing, luxuriating and taking care of myself. These recent days, she�d seen me not completely at my best, and considering my long days at the office and my 132 mile daily commute � it is quite reasonable to say that I have my moments when I appear �weathered� about the eyes. S* ordered a finely diced chicken breast dish, which was aromatically seasoned with ginger, garlic, leeks and onions, served on cool beds of lettuce. It was my first time trying this dish, I must say, once I got the hang of using chopsticks I was in heaven. My dad would say �it makes the mouth happy.� For dinner S* recommended I order chicken breast medallions, served with a bevy of spicy red, green and yellow Oriental peppers. I love spicy food. The truth is, I can�t get enough of it. Each pepper yielded it�s own level of heat and unique zesty flavor. Z* shared some of his Tempura Eggplant, with me, while S* and J* shared their General Tso�s chicken with me. All of the finest, freshest ingredients were used to cook each dish to our liking. I noticed that each plate was uniquely garnished with flowers. Upon closer examination and discussion with S* and the kids, I learned that each garnish is hand-crafted, and no two are alike. I had a lovely Gardenia replica on my plate, which was carved from a horseradish and part of a white Vidalia onion. S* and my brothers are regulars at Asean Bistro; as such the waitstaff, with whom they are on a first name basis, greeted us all with hugs and kisses. After our meal the very same ritual was repeated. Several times throughout the meal, the youngest son �J�, who works another full time job, as the manager of a sporting goods store, in the nearby Columbia mall visited our table to ensure that all dishes were tasty and that we were satisfied.

I had jokingly told S* that I could no longer eat carry out Chinese food, from the likes of the �House of Luck� (a fictional restaurant reference I made up for the purpose of our own entertainment). Later we�d began referring to the fast food Oriental take outs as �House of Un�. It is now impossible for me to dine anywhere but Aesan Bistro.

My once a week, Friday yen (no pun intended) for Chinese food will have to wait for a proper, lavish meal at Asean. As if the food and service weren�t enough, there is an all you can eat, $14 per person, weekend champagne brunch served until 2pm.

If I were a professional restaurant critic, I�d sum up our dining experience by saying that Asean Bistro, features intimate dining, coupled with fresh, uniquely stylized, upscale Oriental cuisine, not limited to Japanese, Cantonese, Thai, Chinese and Korean, with a relaxed dress code and unbelievably affordable prices.

My palate will never again be the same.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -