5:00 p.m. - 2002-12-19
Mental Clarity

Mental Clarity

There are times when you don�t know how valuable something is, until it is no longer.

I am prompted today to write because of what I�ve been observing in my office.

J, the new guy has been a member of our team a skinch over 30 days. He cares a great deal about his work performance, his office environment, and generally speaking, about his fellow team mates (a definite good thing). We have team mates on holiday. What this means is that every remaining team member must work a tad bit extra to help absorb the work load. K has been training J, and has been doing an excellent job.

Enter R, who throws many a verbal monkey wrench into K�s best formulated plans. The inevitable occurs involving J. I have watched J�s job performance deteriorate over the course of this week, in large part due to the words R spoke. K is at her wit�s end. I�m keeping my head down and deliberately remaining out of the fray.

This comedy of errors, as it were, led me to think about the value of my own mental clarity, or peace of mind. I am in no way attempting to be arrogant, conceited or condescending. Above all things admittedly, my mental clarity/peace of mind is priceless.

I can�t help but sit here shaking my head side to side, waiting for some major catastrophe to occur. This is not the first, nor will it be the last.

Sadly this same scenario is playing itself out, the world over, in corporate America.

*sigh* When all else fails, I can look heavenward and give God thanks, I still have my mental clarity.
Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -