8:45 p.m. - 2003-08-06
Interview#1

The interview went well.

I met with Misty, the Headhunter. She was exactly what I thought she�d be, which made it easy for me to pitch myself.

We talked about topics and issues that had nearly nothing to do with her finding me a job, for instance: the poster on their wall is one that lists a firm I used to work for, in the Private Limited Partnerships Dept; and the Corp. Training Dept. I mentioned that to her � scored major points in the process too.

Secondly, when she made a photocopy of my driver�s license, she noticed the big difference in my hairstyle and asked me about what I�d done to my hair. I told her proudly that I�d donated 31 inches of hair to www.locksoflove.org she knew who they were and upon hearing that, her entire facial expression changed.

She returned from the xerox machine and stared long and hard into my face. Simultaneously she sighed and replied �You are one extraordinary young woman.� I said �Thank you�.

That one statement set the tone for me to pitch my self with the greatest of ease. She was solo in the office this afternoon, which meant she had to answer phones, conduct interviews, complete paperwork, administer tests etc. I sat while she answered her calls, then we talked about my skills for about 1-min.

Her manager called and later Misty shared with me that the job she had in mind for me had been *flucked* up by another candidate, who was said to have been the �bomb�. Bomb all right a complete fricking dud. This candidate whomever she was or is, arrived 2.5 hrs. late to the FIRST day of the job!!! Then Triflena Robinson spent the entire rest of the business day typing 2 mother freaking memos. Hello! @#$% you are earning over $50k to type memos fool.

I could�ve died. Misty�s D.C. office HIGHLY recommended this candidate. She was in a bind so she passed the candidate onto the client sight unseen. She lives to regret having done so. In walks �the kid�. I listen and tell her if she wants I�ll work 1 day free for the client. Her eyes widen. She says she�ll pay me out of her own pocket and send me there on an audition if the client will permit it.

So we wait�

I did inform Misty of my 1 special caveat. I must be allowed to extend 2 wks. notice to my employer. Irrespective of whether or not he accepts that; I want to be in a position to offer it.

For the record she tested me, both on the PC and in writing. She never even looked at my written exams; all she cared about was those 100s I busted on the PC apps exam and the typing test. Both of which I straight blazed.

In the meantime I�ve located 6 gov�t. jobs that I�ll be applying for. Those apps along w/ cover letters will be mailed tomorrow during my lunch period.

Thank you again for all of the support and prayers.

Y�all are an amazing group of people.

Ciao
Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -