2:11 p.m. - 2004-03-08
Indulgence...A Weekend to Remember

Attention, attention, May I have your attention please?

To the Mother whom I've never had one single good thing to say anything about...Mother you have succeeded.

He spent moments quietly watching, memorizing my movements.

I had no idea, he was paying attention �like that�.

In the kitchen, I am comfortable.

I have been trained, since the tender age of 6, I should feel and be comfortable here.

My mother, for a singular purpose did this - she was molding me into "decent wife material".

Yeah, at 6, I was to be "decent wife material" otherwise my future was doomed - NO ONE would want to marry a woman, who could not cook.

*Gasp*, the shock and the horror of it all.

Then, it thought it cruel, torturous, mundane and dull.

Last night into the wee hours of the morning I lived to regret those very thoughts.

The thoughts of an inexperienced, innocent child, who wanted to ride her bike, play jacks or read a book, anything! but be in the kitchen doing �woman�s work�.

Woman�s work is of course, after all for Women right? Grown women, not 6-year old girls. Right?!�

Last night in a single conversation, he made me love and appreciate my mother in a new way. He complimented me so generously and sincerely, all for the mere act of my skill, grace and confidence in the kitchen.

If only he could have seen my 6 year old pouty face, disappointed and sullen, night after unending night, in the kitchen alone with my mother the Gestapo drill seargent - the World's First "IRON Chef".

Last night, I merely thought I was cooking. Matter of fact I didn�t give it a thought at the time. He, quietly observant, obviously giving me and my graceful movements plenty of thought.

I never once looked up at him, I didn�t do so because I honestly didn�t realize he was in the room. I didn�t do so because I was focused on cooking. I didn�t do so because again, he had an opportunity to see me in my element.

I took effort to make him know that I am not always so graceful, confident, well put together. He smiled, casting his head downwards.

He needs to know that there are moments I�m a complete goof, and sometimes there are unending moments of my goofiness strung together.

I said �Don�t let one or two real good moments fool you into thinking I�m like this every moment, of every day, because at some point, I�m going to do or say something that you won�t think is beautiful, elegant, divine, marvelous or breathtaking. You can count on that because I�m human, and I�m very real.�

Without missing a beat, he said �and that�s why I�m feeling you so much�.

Men!

I see now why we as women, can�t live without em.

Perfect charmers they can be.

Our dinner wore into late night, then into early morning. I decided not to go to work, just to have the opportunity to spend as much time with him, talking and answering questions.

If you�d have told me 6 months or a year ago, I�d be doing this I would�ve laughed in your face and told you that you are out of your natural mind.

I�m thinking�perhaps, sometimes, we should all indulge ourselves � maybe perhaps just an itty bitty smidge.

And mom, from my heart, Thank You.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -