1:53 p.m. - 2004-03-08
A Weekend to Remember Part I

Spent Saturday with �him� *sigh*. We had a grand time at The Freer and Sackler Galleries.

We journeyed from the far reaches of London, Paris, Egypt, Korea, Persia, Japan Bali and India. Each gentle twist and turn, educating and optically intoxicating us.

Through hushed whispers, I shared what I�d learned about art and early civilizations. He listened with rapt attention. Effortlessly he hung on every word. For the first time in my life, I had the undivided attention of another. I could not help but feel utterly self-conscious. I found myself glancing away. (How foolish of me, in retrospect.) The gentleman he is, he made nary a comment about my school girl-like actions.

As we wound our way through the cool, well lit galleries, I found myself giddy, and feeling completely safe and at peace. His company was a welcomed addition, to an otherwise frenetic and mostly solitary existence.

We found time throughout to exchange momentary glances, each smiling often. I couldn�t help but think over and over to myself �he is so utterly easy to be around.�

We find the very same things funny. He loves my laugh, the sound of it makes him want to laugh too. He even loves the way tiny tears escape from the corners of my eyes when I am enjoying the mere act of laughing.

He notices everything. He made me aware of just how much he notices and further stated it is because he *wants* to notice.

*Sweet.*

Our field trip, which was to have been a spontaneous activity to allow him to breathe, and a chance to see once more, what he�d been �missing� all this time, was a success � at least he said it was. I concur.

As I reflect on him�he was and is flexible, patient, chivalrous, an avid listener, a comedic personality.

I must admit, I had initially been concerned that I would bore him with my interspersed tidbits. I couldn�t have been more wrong. While in the midst of Persia and Egypt he asked me if I had a moment. I turned on my heels, facing him, looking directly in his little eyes. His body language told me, that he was about to say something serious. I wanted to be ready, I wanted to hear every single word as he uttered each syllable.

He gently cleared his throat, returning my gaze without blinking, he leaned forward, taking my hand he whispered �You�ve inspired me to return to school.�

I�d heard his words, and was left ever so conscious of the beat of my own heart I smiled, there was no need for me to say anything to him except �I�m proud of you, and thank you for honoring me, by sharing that.� I took a deep breath, closed my eyes, then quickly opened them, looking at him I said �Remember, it isn�t easy okay?�

He chuckled, extending his hand, we exited Persia and entered Egypt.

I knew from that moment onwards, everything between us was going to be just fine.

The art we had a chance to see, was breath taking, gorgeous beyond mere description, intricate, ornate, imaginative, expressive, regal, telling.

I was in my element. I am so grateful to him for bringing the real me back. It boggles my mind the way in which he did it.

He led me, without me even knowing it.

How beautiful and awesome is that?


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -