1:31 p.m. - 2002-11-07
In All Things Give Thanks

In All Things Give Thanks

A discussion yesterday with my one and only favorite cousin MeliMel resulted in a bit of reflection, on my part, later in the evening. Don�t you just love talking to someone who stimulates you mentally? I do!. We have oft discussed the topic, of being grateful and thankful for all things, and people in our lives. Meli raised an important point during our conversation � the importance of One�s life being �right� with God; in order to both receive blessings; and to be a blessing to others.

Truth be told, Meli has a special place in my heart. She knows it too, we�ve discussed it many times. Initially it was an unspoken thing. Through this journey I�m making, I�d begun letting everyone know how I felt, what role they played, and the importance of their continued influences on me. She (Meli) is one of those very special people within my inner circle. One whom I pray remains there, as long as I walk the face of this Earth.

Guess what?! I�m her favorite person too. She isn�t my favorite cousin/person because she looks up to me, and certainly not because she is ever so generous with her lavish praise and adoration of me, but because I see so very much of what I�d like to think of, and refer to as �the better parts of me�, in her. Another way for me to describe what I�m trying to convey is: I see a MATURED, level-headed, wisdom-beyond-her-age image of me, in her. She is intelligent, gifted beyond description, determined, principled, committed and beautiful � physically and spiritually. Had she been my flesh and blood sister; I�m not so certain we�d share this beautiful and mutually respectful/adoring, fulfilling, rewarding relationship.

In short, she is my girl, and always will be. I�m there for her, and she�s there for me � believe it or not. All soldiers need a shoulder from time to time. There�s nothing wrong with needing a person. Let me say that once more for my own personal benefit.

THERE�S NOTHING WRONG WITH NEEDING A PERSON.

Next time I feel a case of Boo Boo the Fool rising up, I�ll try to remember that it�s perfectly okay, for me, to need someone to help me over and or through my life�s impasse.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -