2:01 p.m. - 2002-11-08
Mississippi Masala

Mississippi Masala

In an attempt to be sensitive and maybe a smidge humorous, L set the t.v. to this movie. Let me begin by saying, I did chuckle initially. I�d seen this film, at the theater, opening day, with my then best friend A. We�d grown close during Undergrad, at Morgan State University (nick named �The University of Adversity�). Both of our mother�s served in the same Army Reserve Unit thus encouraging our friendship and ensuing fondness for one another. Years later, I was 1 of 3 bridesmaids honored to be a part of her wedding to E. The long and short of it is: A and I are no longer friends, and secondly, this movie brought up all sorts of issues, thoughts and feelings, which I hadn�t mentally marinated upon, in what seemed like eons.

For the record, Surita Chowdhury is not the most attractive, nor the most talented Indian female actress in Bollywood. I am convinced, she had to have one hellafied talent manager, to have secured the leading female role opposite my husband, Denzel Washington. Now that I�ve exhaled, and am ready to speak without getting upset or hyperventilating, this film exposes a number of stereotypes within Indian culture and Indian family dynamics. I wish I could honestly say it weren�t so, but it is, and I know full well, that there is NO point in denial.

I have lived long enough to realize, admit and come to terms with the fact that across ethnic boundaries we all experience a great many of the same things culturally. (I propose, and mind you, I am no way an authority on the subject, I am merely sharing my thoughts and opinions on the topic.) What may separate or define these experiences is the native language or �tongue� spoken, and or our religious beliefs and quite possibly, perhaps our pre-existing moral/value systems. I didn�t want the entire film, as I had a full day planned, what I did happen to see is this: Nepotism, favoritism, discrimination based upon skin color, discrimination based upon the amount of money/material wealth a family did or did not possess, importance placed upon what one had accomplished once settling in America, preoccupation with what �everyone� thinks, says or does in reaction to what you have said, thought or done, the systematic devaluation of female progeny in which they are paraded around and in competition, for the attention and affection of a single male suitor who has been deemed �a good husband�, lack of respect for privacy, meddling, interfering although well-intentioned family members and I could go on and on, but I�ll stop here.

I would be very interested in discussing with any of you, what you gathered from this film. The way your thoughts and opinions may have been shaped, altered, and or, any new things you may have learned by watching the movie.
Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -