3:00 p.m. - 2003-05-01
Hot flashes?

I work in a Technology Center.

We have oodles of silos, mainframes, industrial printers, PCs, mid-range imaging, routers, servers and foot upon foot of wiring, and other hardware.

Am I the only person, cooking?

Am I having hot flashes at the tender age of 32?!

I attempted to work, but I could not.

It was so hot, stuffy, stifling even.

Sweat literally poured down my temples. I was getting progressively angry.

This facility is not supposed to be greater than 50 degrees.

Where is THE Engineer?

Is he asleep at the wheel or what?!

Luckily we have excellent Security personnel. I spoke with both of them, they promised they�d get the situation looked into and corrected without delay. � The did too!

In moments, I saw one Engineer, then a second then a 3rd. Next I observed all 3 of them, going up separate ladders - only to disappear mid-torso, into the false ceiling.

I began thinking negative thoughts. I � way wondered to myself if positive thoughts would keep me cooler?...I was growing impatient and hotter (literally) by the moment.

�it�s only a matter of time before we receive an email stating that we don�t have AC service in this bldg. (confirmation of one of my worst fears).

I was pleased to be wrong. The 3 Musketeers (Engineers) were able to adjust the AC.

I tried to sit as still as possible, I couldn�t help but think that it would be several hours before the building would cool down.

The one thing I knew I could look forward to tomorrow was a crisp cool building. Aaah�


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -