12:59 p.m. - 2003-04-26
Hershey Park

Me, my cousin L, her two sons, and a couple of her other friends made the 2 hr car trip to Hershey Park - The Sweetest Place on Earth. I had never visited the park before, and looked forward to this experience with anticipation.

Mother Nature had her own agenda (it drizzled from morning until approximately 2pm), we were physically damp, however our desire to have fun couldn�t be squelched.

We walked and talked about how we planned on splitting into smaller groups, in an effort, to allow everyone to ride the kind of rides he/she was interested in.

It took no time for everyone in our party to learn that I have never ridden a roller coaster, and that I was afraid to do so. Mind you L and her oldest son H, both know that I�ve bungee jumped, rappelled and that I�ve jumped (willingly) from a moving aircraft (on more than one occasion). They were totally perplexed as to how and why I was afraid to ride a mere roller coaster. I tried, yes, believe me, I honestly did try to talk my way out of riding. I even tried to negotiate my way out of riding. Nothing I tried worked.

H had originally agreed to watch over me and ride all 9 of the park�s coasters, but I was saved when other members of our party arrived. H split off with the other teenagers which left me in L�s care. She had her heart set on riding at least 1 coaster with me.

She chose�

GREAT BEAR!

GREAT BEAR� is an exhilarating, looping, inverted steel coaster. You ride below the track, not above it. The ride starts by lifting you 90 feet off the ground. It will then speed up to 61 miles per hour (nearly a mile a minute) as it rips down the tracks, through a loop then into what is called an immelman - a loop that turns you out at the to and then drops you like a falling star! Then you will cross the sooperdooperLooper�, make an "S" turn before returning to earth.

Above is the park�s description of the ride.

I rode in row 2, the furthest seat on the left. I was �out there� on the turns and loops.

I was afraid to the point, where I sat silently in my seat and was unable to fasten my shoulder harness and belt. The ride attendant had to take care of that for me. L held my hand for a moment, and told me I�d be �just fine�. I did not believe one word she uttered. I wanted off the ride in the worst way but I was stuck.

I rode Great Bear with my eyes closed which L informed me afterwards makes the sensation of the ride itself even more intense. When I tried to open my eyes, I found I was unable to do so. Fear or G-forces, it matters not, I wanted off the ride at the midpoint of one of the loops � an impossibility I know, but I still wanted off.

The exact moment we pulled into the terminal, is the precise moment I was overcome by adrenaline and insanity - I wanted to ride once more.

We didn�t ride again, the line was 2.5 hrs. + long. L was interested in getting food and she�d promised me a funnel cake, as a reward for my bravery.

My legs were like spaghetti, so we walked slowly. I conquered my first roller coaster ride, and enjoyed my very first funnel cake with strawberries, powdered sugar and chocolate syrup.

L insisted on stopping to see our photo. She saw that I was telling the truth � my eyes were closed and the expression on my face made her think I was praying. She was right, I was praying it would stop and I could get off � all to no avail.

Guess what?! I promised her I would not scream, during the coaster ride and I didn�t. L was impressed by that.

We didn�t buy my praying picture, but we did buy a picture of us on the tour of the Chocolate Museum. I�ll be posting that shortly. We look like 2 human caricatures of Paddington Bear. We had a ball in the park and the Museum tour which was automated, gave us a chance to cool our heels, learn about the production of Hershey�s chocolate and laugh at our adventures.

I had a wonderful time, I scored some cotton candy for each of us, and I�d go back in a heart beat.

I think I�d even ride another coaster, but I�d have to have a buddy along for that ride.

P.S. The air in the town of Hershey does smell like chocolate, and that my friends, is one of the most pleasing and comforting smells in this world.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -