4:41 p.m. - 2003-12-17
Good Friend Bad Friend

Today I had an opportunity to speak with a female friend.

She�s been through a great deal this year. She is strong and sensitive � I have seen this and more from her over the course of our friendship.

She is under a tremendous amount of pressure at the office. When she calls I know she feels she can confide in me no subject barred.

Lately, she�s been calling me nearly on a daily basis, talking about the same subjects, same observations, same comments and opinions.

I feel worn down, helpless and sad after she and I talk.

I can�t fix any of the scenarios she shares with me. This drives me batty.

I have this need to make suggestions when the person or persons I love, seem to need help.

Trouble is, when I make a suggestion her replies sound to me as if I�m being shot down.

With school and work and a hellacious* daily commute I have no energy or desire to hear this or deal with this.

I don�t want to deal with her calls any longer.

The feelings I come away with, are neither healthy nor productive for me.

I need to talk to her.

What do I say? More importantly how do I say it, so that I don�t hurt her or blow our friendship?

Am I a bad friend?


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -