6:10 p.m. - 2003-12-22
Shortest Day

While driving to the office this morning, I learned the word solstice means �standing still�; and that today is the shortest day of the year.

We will have 9 hours and blank minutes of daylight. Don�t start laughing at me just yet. I have a good reason for why I wrote *blank minutes*. I would have been able to tell you the precise number of minutes of day light for today, except I had so much code work to complete � alphanumeric codes to memorize, that my temporary short term memory bank formatted itself and out went the number of day light minutes for today.

Sorry. I can�t upgrade my memory bank, I can�t trade it in. It is what it is. I�ve got limitations; I can live with that. Really I can�

Talk radio�s host went on to share that come January 1st day light begins to increase. Yay!

* * *

This weekend I saw a program on Discovery channel that stated residents of Maryland are 6 times a likely to be diagnosed with Seasonal Affective Disorder due to the haze and smog. Yikes! There was a doctor � forgot his name too � who is a psychologist who relocated to Maryland; and was diagnosed with SAD during his very FIRST Maryland winter.

I also stayed tuned to learn about light boxes and how treatments for SAD work for some, and not for others, yada yada yada and that exercise and nutrition and sleep and alcohol consumption play a part yada yada yada.

What I did not hear any statistics on, was how many of us who are diagnosed with SAD absolutely refuse to get on meds and how we bust our chops daily to exercise, eat properly, sleep and take vitamins to keep ourselves on the brink of sanity and normality.

I suppose the �spurts [sic] experts, don�t tabulate that control group when conducting surveys and glamorous research and all that.

* * *

This weekend I got a chance to go to Arundel Mills with my cousin L. We had to take care of some personal shopping and Christmas gifts as well. I treated her to some time at the spa and pampered myself while we were there - nothing like killing 2 birds with one stone (not literally, of course). I was particularly pleased with myself because I�m not a �maul� person, nor am I a �crowd� person. This trip however L�s company was so relaxing it was just plain fun to look at the displays, venturing into only the stores where we saw something that really caught our eye. Found out L and I have nearly the same taste and L thinks I�m a nice dresser. Nothing like compliments, spa time, good food and great company to make a girl wanna *spend* *spend* *spend.*

So L and I did our respective parts to support the ailing U.S. retail economy.

She also purchased a sterling silver charm bracelet from Etienne Aigner for me. It�s my first charm bracelet and I adore it.

* * *

Wouldn�t it figure?!...Tomorrow I�m scheduled to have my hair trimmed and highlighted. I�ve gotten 2 compliments on my hair today. Must be Murphy�s Law on Good Hair Days�Only time your coif will be fierce is the very day before you go to the salon to have it professionally done.

* * *

Night all its past 1800hrs and I need to get home. I�ve got a job offer to reply to and goodness knows I can�t do that at my job.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -