12:01 p.m. - 2003-11-13
Food Heals

Yesterday I had the worst day EVER, in my history of working for Corporate America.

The problem involved my largest client. The retail segment of the firm agreed to give �client x� special treatment and priority processing. Ain�t that all special?!...Only trouble is that the morons didn�t check with me, or my department to ensure that we could honor these business requirements. �Client x� isn�t honoring his portion of our signed contract agreement. *gasp and swoon* Is anyone surprised by this malarkey?!

I damn sure ain�t.

After giving all the energy and brain power, I had left in my body, to process this client, I encountered additional obstacles.

I was ready to give up the ghost. Honestly, how can we conduct business in this manner?

I was livid! The degree and intensity of my �lividity� increased as my interaction with client x�s processing was prolonged.

RRRRRRRRRRRRRR!

The upside to this debacle is that I had an opportunity to work with one of our firm�s nicest programmer/developers. PH* you rock! Woman you really do.

PH* performed her programmer�s magic, fixing the entire problem without delay and sans attitude. Because of PH�s* awesome capabilities and talents I didn�t have to work late either. She�s the best damn programmer we have on salary. I hope we are paying her, because she�s worth it and then some. Polite, pleasant, brilliant and swift- damn can I get a what what?!...

To bring my boring tale to a close I let a bunch of �F�s and �S�s fly out my mouth. Highly inappropriate and equally unprofessional of me, all this served to do was let my manager know that I �had it� with �client x� and his half witted shenanigans.

Said manager did try to patronize and placate me, to no avail. He is now in closed door meetings. I know one damn thing he�d better affect change.

I departed my office, but not before printing the names and addresses for every club in the metropolitan Washington DC area,

and

downloading samples of professional cover letter templates.

I tell ya�ll, bartending is looking better and better with each passing moment.

And I ain�t lying either.

Can you tell who is hanging in there, at her job by a thin thread, one that is thinning by the nanosecond?

I proceeded to the ATM machine I typically don�t use the machine at night except this time I had no money, to buy groceries for dinner. I got a call on my phone from S* and my kids requesting me to join them for dinner � baked Perdue oven stuffer roaster, stuffing, red potatoes, sweet corn, and French bread. You know I cancelled my plans to make a salad and broke bread with them. I could imagine the food as S* described how she�d seasoned the chicken.

Uh yeah I�m a food-a-holic. Food does �it� for me.

I poured my heart out to S* about 'client x' and my bad week, and how I�m not doing well in my Logic class and how I need to get back on track like yesterday and plus find a new job and send money to my brother who is starving in the UK.

She sat me and the kids down at the dinner table. I/We enjoyed a meal that was so delicious, hearty and filled with love.

I was healed - like magic.

I have always felt that home cooked food could heal whatever ailed you.

Last night�s dinner and the company healed me to such an extent, that I drove home in under 40 minutes and slept like a baby until this morning.

I sent an email to S* thanking her for the marvelous dinner.

She has a rare and special talent of knowing what I need, when I need it � she always comes through for me. I absolutely adore that about her and my kids.

�Mind you I�m fast and furious on the hunt for a lucrative bartending gig, or another job with far fewer responsibilities, located closer to home than my current one. This driving 132 miles round trip daily, and the 9 � 10 hour days I put in is for the damn birds.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -