1:16 p.m. - 2003-01-16
Fear

Fear

I arrived home to find L packing. My heart stopped in that instant.

The seriousness of the world�s political events became more real and apparent.

All about the den, his gear was strewn.

In hand, was a packing list.

He was talking to himself, in a low, hushed tone.

I suppose he was talking himself through what he knew needed to be done � methodically without any second thoughts.

My best friend, in the whole, wide world is packing, preparing to go off to war.

Inside my emotions are jumbled � bumping one another like atoms vying to gain protons, neutrons and electrons. All at once I feel numb.

He glances up to find me staring at him.

I am in complete awe of what I see before me.

I don�t want him to go. I don�t want there to be a war.

We stare at each other without talking.

I can feel tears forming, first in my heart, then a tightening in my throat, finally they arrive at my eyes. I begin backing up slowly.

I turn and leave the room.

I want so much to tell him, but I haven�t got the first notion at how to order my words.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -