12:40 p.m. - 2003-01-05
Betrayed

Betrayed January 5-12, 2003

This is the time of year when I can fully expect my body to betray me. Typically I don�t catch colds or flus. My body instead chooses to get Pneumonia. This year is different. I can�t help but wonder what exactly has attributed to my good health and fortune. I have an idea but I don�t want to say it aloud, lest I *jinx* myself.

I was feeling strong, wonderful, fine�then I began feeling a certain bit of discomfort in my throat. That was the afternoon of Sunday January 5th. By Monday I had been vanquished by a 102 degree fever, chills, dizzy spells, tremors, congestion, sneezing and inability to breathe. As the days progressed my fever would heighten. My symphony of symptoms choose the accompaniment of rounds of whooping coughs, sweats and general panic and delirium.

I spent 5 days away from my office, walloped by multi symptoms. My bathrobes, pajamas, pillows and blankets became my best friends.

I managed to get an appointment to see my physician on Wednesday January 8th. He spent 15 minutes jotting salient notes, checking my eyes, ears, nose and pounding my knees, foot bottoms and elbows with a rubber mallet. Afterwards he sent me on my way, with 3 prescriptions in hand, I was sent off to the laboratory for testing.

It�s Friday January 17th and while I feel heaps better I�ve developed an empty cough � one which is immune to Robitussin DM and Ricola cough drops.

One of the prescriptions I have been taking keeps me up for a minimum of 17hrs. a day. Sleep has mocked and eluded me. Today I took the last pill and I am so looking forward to getting better acquainted with my pillows and blankets.

I hadn�t planned on not writing, as I wasn�t in need of a break. Unbeknownst to me, my body had an agenda of its own.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -