6:12 p.m. - 2003-04-09
Breathing Value

What is the monetary value, of being able to breathe, without effort?

I found out the answer to that very question, today, while running errands.

Apparently, between my firm , and the managed care prescription program both of whom shall remain nameless; the answer to my question is $80.00 a month; or approximately $2.67 a day.

I filled 5 prescriptions, in advance, of the advent of allergy season. The thinking behind this is that I need to have these medicines in order to literally breathe. I cannot afford to wait and have them ordered, nor can I afford to have the pharmacist inform me that they no longer have the meds on hand.

Without all 5 of these miracle drugs, I am relegated to mouth breathing - which I abhor, both for the way it makes me look and more importantly, for the fact that it does nothing short of dry and irritate/aggravate my infection prone throat & respiratory system.

I am fortunate, and I have to keep reminding myself of this fact. I don�t have a spouse, children, nor a pet to take care of. I can�t help but think that I�m paying a huge sum of money each month for health coverage yet I am paying $80 a month for the better part of the year, for medicines, which give me the ability to breathe � as a normal human being would.

What would happen to me if I didn�t have insurance and I wasn�t capable of paying for this medicine?

Is Not Breathing an option?


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -