3:45 p.m. - 2004-05-2
166,129

That's what the odometer displayed when I noticed the "Check Engine" idicator was illuminated for the 2nd time in 71 days.

"Great", I thought to myself.

Being the good-follow-the-rules egg that I am, I phoned the Honda of Bowie dealer right away. The switchboard placed me into their voicemail. I left a message then made an exceutive decision to drive there and asked to be placed in the service queue.

I reasoned that if The Green Machine was going to throw a rod or some other such dire nonesense I may as well know this sooner rather than later. (As this would have a definite impact on trade-in value & *eh hem* my safety and possibly my life).

Bob the service manager remembered me, greeted me with a smile and informed me that this time its the "EGR" I tried to phoneticially pronounce those 3 letters, which made him and me laugh. He asked me what I wanted to do. The Green Machine has an appt. on Tuesday June 1st for some maintenance work as it is.

I took a moment and inhaled deeply, I looked at Bob and said "Bob if it's over $1,000 I'm trading the car in." Bob replied "please don't do that." He then proceeded to inform me that the EGR is located in the top rear of the engine and works along with the intake manifold. It allows air to go into the engine hence permitting combustion. Without the EGR functioning properly the car functions at less than optimal levels. Mind you he waited to say that the repair work is $386.

I breathed a sigh of relief. He made my day! I was mulling over all sorts of fanagling I was gonna have to go through just to get another car.

*sigh* Bob or "Bobberino" as I call him in my mind, was my hero.

He then related a story about his parents' 1992 Accord LX. He just had its EGR cleaned and said that car has turned 288,000 miles and is running just like new!

Bob pleaded with me further to hold onto my car. I told him I would since this repair was less than my "threshold".

Imagine me, a 33 year old kid, telling a 50 something year old man about "threshold". He should've waved his hand at me and mumbled "Bah" and then told me to "get a vision" but he didn't. He fully understood. He's one of the few really good and honest guys working in a car dealership's service department.

The long and short, I'll spend nearly $1,000 for the repairs The Green Machine needs on Tuesday, meanwhile I've got to find a way to distract myself from staring at the "CHECK ENGINE" light until then.

Any suggestions?

And no one had better dare suggest I try to play a game with any cicadas. One woman has already crashed her car into a fire hydrant; leaving her entire neighborhood without water for nearly 1/2 a day all because of a Cicada.

Another woman totalled her SUV and another SUV on the B.W. Parkway because *male* CicadaS entered her SUV and began buzzing around, scaring and scarring her to death.

...news at 11.

Do you think anyone will look at me sideways if I walk around saying "ee guh rrr" "ee guh rrr"?


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -