11:53 a.m. - 2004-05-26
05-26-04

T-1 day.

I've packed my office.

A small desktop fan whirls quietly - keeping me company.

All of R.E. Ferrari's artwork has been safely transported to my home; my cube walls are bare and depressing in their sparseness.

One last, quick trip downstairs to withdraw funds from the credit union, to get The Green Machine fixed on Tuesday June 1st - oil pan gasket, oil change, front motor mount and the a/c checked. Soon the green machine will turn 169,000 miles.

* * *

Today they surprised me with Boston cr�me cake, chips, sodas and a card. - I felt a bit awkward, I didn't want a send off, a card would've sufficed, and honestly it would've.

None of this stuff is on my nutrition plan! *sigh*

I decided to eat 12 chips, rather than be a hard as_. YES of course, I counted them!

I refuse to undo my hard won progress.

Amid sad faces, there were a couple of people who said that they would really miss me. Those select few and I will remain in touch.

I knew in my heart that I'd given my best, some of them saw what I was capable of. The more sensible ones of this group know full well, just how hard I'd worked.

I made a joke, telling them that it's far better to have folks sad to see you move on, than to have them clapping as you walk out the door - that made them laugh.

* * *

There was no way for me to say to the folks I like a lot, "Hey I'm really gonna miss ya'll and I want us to keep in touch, meanwhile the rest of you wankers can sit and spin."

Instead I smiled and said "Thank you all".

Despite mostly growing up in a broken home, I do have manners. It is at less-than-optimal-social settings such as this one, that my Grannie B's efforts pay huge dividends. I sure do hope she was looking down on me from Heaven, seeing that I minded her earlier lessons on "etiquette and how to display good manners in order to grow up a proper and respectable young lady."

* * *

I received a notice in the mail. Somehow the U.S. Dept. of Treasury thinks I owe them $534. I need to call them today and get this situation rectified. *asap*

* * *

It took me several days to figure it out, but the crick in my neck is caused by the nap I took during my "big brother's" commencement ceremony this past Saturday. I am left to ponder how long the discomfort and tenderness will persist.

Ironic that the reward for my illicit nap is a sore and cricked neck. *sigh* no rest for the weary nor wicked.

* * *


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -