9:00 a.m. - 2004-11-05
11-05-04


Yesterday I did fall in love at KinderCare. The lil tator tots were sleeping when I visited. The director allowed me to tip toe through their class and look around. We spent 47 minutes talking. That visit was much different than my first at La Petite however, it is unfair I suppose to compare the 2. They both have their strong points, but my heart really is with La Petite... *sigh*

Now all that is left is for Mother Pumpkin and Father Pumpkin to decide if they can afford the school and to get in there to complete the registration paperwork. I spoke with my mother to let her know what I'd accomplished. She was not feeling well and as a result a bit sharp on the tele. It's all good b/c I kept the convo short and sweet. I am learning I truly am. Life is too short & I can do without complications people, I really can.

* * *
Yesterday as a whole was very productive for me. I didn't sleep but I did remember to eat at about 12:47. Appetite still absent and on it's own bizarre schedule. Still waiting patiently to see when it returns to a norm of sorts.

* * *
You know my Grannie B always said that first impressions matter. She's right, they truly do, and in the same vein so do 3rd impressions.

What am I getting at?...

Last night in the rain, and against my inner angora sleep sock wearing, snuggling self I made myself go out on a date. It wasn't that bad but I was on the fence about should I or shouldn't I...

Well we were both tardy b/c of traffic and the location he chose, but that was okay b/c we were able to order some of the most awesome Crab Bisque ever. That makes 3 times this week I've had that soup and I can't get enough of it.

Getting to the point, he mistreated everyone, starting with me, the concierge, the waiter and the manager. What is it with some individuals that they think it is acceptable to be rude and disorderly?

I was displeased. I don't know what my facial expression(s) must've looked like but I was quiet. What would be the point in trying to correct someone whom I know I am not going to see again?!...still it troubled me, that he was curt and rude with the very folks handling OUR FOOD!

I smiled throughout at the concierge, the waiter and yes the bartender, pleased and thank you'd my way through the entire meal to the point where all 3 of these men were smiling and making eye contact only with me. There is something to be said for good manners and treating people with dignity and respect.

Don't get me wrong, I do have my fair share of bad days and then some, however I don't mistreat people b/c of what goes on in my world - at least I make a conscious effort not to do so and I think that is important.

Any hoo, one of the most controversial, disturbing and immature comments he made last night was the possibility of me falling in love between now and December and having to give up my all expense paid trip to Mexico. Mind you this trip is a gift from my best friend's mom. How on Earth would I even dare to think of giving up this trip? Oh no! In my mind I was both reeling and restraining myself.

All I could think to myself was "Dr. So and So, has lost his natural mind!"

Next he asked me what I wanted to do after I completed school, I smiled and paused then told the truth - which boils down to, I don't really know. Each time I have an opportunity to network or hear a guest speaker, I get filled with new ideas and motivations and I want to go and explore. And for now that is perfectly okay because I'm still in this realm of being a professional student and working around school.

You know my response made Dr. So and So squirm right?!

I focused on enjoying my soup and then the Caesar salad and drank my decaf coffee and kept my thoughts to myself.

I reasoned there was little point in making the evening worse than it already was.

He weakly mentioned enjoying my company and wanting to do it again, I couldn't even respond because I was far too caught up in my own thoughts and wanting to get home because I had work to do and an important follow up phone call to make.

What I can say is this. I am learning, not just only in the realm of school but in life. I am so different than say a year ago, or even 6 mos ago where I thought it was of prime importance that the person sitting opposite me totally understand me and blah blah blah. Not so in the present. Not that I'm all right and he's all wrong, not that at all. I choose now when I'm going to share my thoughts and when I think it is worth the effort to explain. No more talking just to fill in the awkward pregnant pauses. Nope, not anymore. Heckle & Jeckle Magpie nervous energy is all gone.

Sometimes this being a grown up thing ain't so bad. Don't quote me on that because I'm sure that in a day or two I'll write something quite the contrary.

* * *
Today is gonna be a take it light day. I have errands to run and a hair appt. Time for new hair color and highlights as well as a trim and some pampering from my favorite Aveda salon. I can't wait until 1 p.m. today!

Tonight I'm having dinner with a social worker. At least I think that's what he said he did for a living. Details to follow - I promise.

You know Ms. Manners would have had a field day with Dr. So and So, right?

I'm off to get myself ready to accomplish things today. It's blustery out chickadees so bundle up & protect ya neck!

Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -