10:00 p.m. - 2004-11-02
11-02-04


Went to school today, then accompanied my sister in law and her 4 tykes to the polls.

I felt it was an important opportunity to teach my nephews and niece the importance of performing one's civic duty.

They were ecstatic. The eldest (my niece) is 7 years of age, the youngest not quite 2 years of age.

They stood in an orderly single-filed line in front of me, holding up their pointer fingers, eager to point and click they way into electing the next president.

I couldn't have been more proud of their commitment and excitement. They waited ever so patiently in the hot as all hell multi-purpose room of Perrywood Elementary Community School, they didn't utter one peep in complaint or protest about having to stand in line after line after line weaving and bobbing until it was finally "our turn".

I had knots in my tummy all day worrying about what could happen and what would happen in my fair city - the nation's capitol if we had a repeat.

Lord I can't even bear to think it through.

I'm hungry and sleep deprived but instead of eating I'm gonna fall into bed.

I'll contend with what happens in the a.m.

Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -