2:54 a.m. - 2004-10-28
10-28-04 Waiting to Exhale


I heeded a bit of advice from a diarist whom I respect and admire.

While she wasn't specifically telling anyone to follow her lead, I decided to do so starting today.

While it may seem like no big deal to any of you gentle readers out there, (if there are any readers out there)...forgive me, I digress...

I spent 6 hours cleaning, organizing and completing tasks which had been left in various stages of incompleteness or done-ness depending on which way you view the proverbial glass (half empty vs. half full).

Surprisingly enough, I accomplished everything I could literally see. The resultant feeling was totally overwhelming.

In the completion of all these small, low priority tasks was a hidden boat load of peace of mind, satisfaction, pride, gratification and relief.

The truth is that I have been under a great deal of pressure, and I'd been blind to the realization of just how much of my "real" life I'd put on hold, and to what extent same was suffering.

My pride, or rose colored glasses of denial (take your pick), had me duped into thinking that "everything was fine", moreover that I was managing.

Truth be told I wasn't managing a mother freakin thing on a personal level. Outside of the house everything is crack-a-latin'. While on the inside of the house barring today's activity I was a hot mess.

All I can say is thanks, you know who(m) you are for the advice. I motivated myself to do what needed to be done, and as a result my environment is clean and orderly. I can walk around without possibly injuring my feet, and sans the possibility of falling straight on my face. I can find stuff when I need it, without having to conduct a search party. I feel so much better knowing I've tended to my personal affairs.

Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -