12:00 p.m. - 2002-10-21
You can�t possibly be�

You can�t possibly be�

What does 32 years of age look like? The answer must be h*ll. Why do I say that? Since October 10th, I have had the occasion to be asked my age. I don�t have any qualms or superstitions about telling my true age. Each time I am asked, I confidently reply "32". Why do I continue to get replies like this:

"you are what?",

"you are "how old?"

"NO, WAY!! Are YOU sure?"

"you have a baby face"

"what�s your secret?"

"how did you manage to do it?"

I thought I was on planet Earth. I thought I was talking to sensible, human beings. Am I sure of my own age? Come on, be for real, how idiotic does that sound when one takes a moment and thinks that phrase over.

I make no apologies for living a good life. In 1993 I made a decision that impacted my finances. I took a huge chance and moved from the east side of Baltimore, Maryland to the south side of St. Petersburg, Florida. I was young then, filled with optimism and enthusiasm. Now I�m older, still filled with enthusiasm and optimism but far more focused and deliberate with my actions and intentions. My journey to Florida was an eye opener, in many respects. There I learned that I am most aptly suited for warm, temperate climates. It was after I migrated back to Maryland, in 1997, (for a marriage proposal � which didn�t materialize in my walking down the aisle), I realized that I had SAD (seasonal affective disorder). When I made my decision to move, I sold my belongings, had a party and gave each of my friends parting gifts which consisted of plants, clothing and household effects. This made my baggage lighter, and gave my friends some thing by which to remember me. During my 5 years, in "retirement", I learned how to live. How to enjoy life and how to put quality back into living.

Zoom forward from 1994 to October 21, 2002. Evidence of what I learned, and how effectively I applied those hard won, lessons in their most practical form, in my day to day living, are most aptly expressed in those phrases I detailed above.

I can�t say enough about the value and merit of massage therapy, light therapy, music therapy, exercise, healthy eating, rest, relaxation and the pursuit of all things we regard as fun, pleasurable and exciting.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -