10:14 a.m. - 2003-02-05
What�s In a Name?

What�s In a Name?

I sit here thinking about the ways in which I think the internet is so marvelous.

The internet:

a medium in which information is readily available,

a medium which affords us the opportunity to share in the lives and thoughts of one another,

a medium which facilitates our ability to communicate with one another - nearly without with any delay.

The above reminds me about the time my first grade teacher, Mrs. Paye, introduced us to the world of books. I vividly recall her describing how books were capable of transporting one�s mind and imagination to far away places filled with mystery, adventure, education and opportunity. I was introduced to books while still in the womb. I have my dad�s intense love for books to thank for that. It goes without saying that I�m a bookworm as well.

These days I find my emotions swirling, at times commingling with a host of cerebral conjurings, much like vanil-choco soft serve ice cream; serendipitously perched upon a cone.

I am not complaining, but would like to come to rest upon some answers � an understanding of sorts; if that is at all possible.

Why?!...Am I able to feel, connect and communicate with strangers over the internet, more effectively and in greater depths, than I am with people, who are for lack of a better term, dead up in my grill?

Why do I find what I think is more sincere, genuine, open, intelligent folk, within that great somewhere called �cyberspace�?

Are the select few, within my inner circle, as base, ignorant and self-involved as I am beginning to think?

Or,

Am I growing impatient and restless?...

Is the culprit my short range goal?

Am I strange?...unique or rare?

Is the problem me?

Is everyone else really �just fine�?

Somehow I must find a way to come to grips with the fact that I may never find the answers, or settle upon an understanding relating to the above questions.

A couple of days ago, I had a priceless communicative, introspective, honest, self-affirming exchange with a person I am comfortable saying is now a virtual friend, and a member of my virtual family.

From where I stand, I can only say that our exchange was riddled with epiphanies and confirmations of prior realizations.

For all of those selfless gifts I thank you my dazzling twin.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -