10:41 a.m. - 2003-09-22
We Gots P-O-W-A-H BABY!

From Thursday the 18th until yesterday the 21st we were without electricity.

I learned a great deal about my dexterity and resilience.

Most importantly I held myself together and helped a friend with her kids when she needed me; in between working and attending meeting upon meeting at the command center.

I conquered my fear of the dark, and I managed to walk around in homes that were unfamiliar to me, without injuring my feet. It may sound like nothing but me and foot injuries are 2 peas in a pod. The issue about the dark may sound stupid and may be a no brainer, but you try facing your fear without any choice, without anyone to comfort you or guide you through the process, and most importantly *Hello, I didn�t plan to face, resolve and conquer this fear RIGHT NOW.*

When I think back to what was going on with me, with regard to my fear of the dark, I know why I was scared. I also know why I was able to resolve this issue. I was busy. I was needed. There were tasks to accomplish, OTHER people to take care of, and I was entrusted and put into a position of leadership and authority. By default I faced my fear and it wasn�t until late last night, while talking with Mr. Cooper I realized that I�ve dealt with it and for now conquered same.

I am exhausted physically and mentally. Not having power is a tiring thing. The sounds of other people�s generators grated our nerves. I learned that teenagers can�t block out the hum and din of other people�s generators like grown ups can. It must have something to do with other people�s kids saying things like �we played our X-box, and watched MTV, did you see when so and so did such and such on The Real World?��I thought I was going to laugh myself into oblivion when my girlfriend�s eldest teenaged son recounted this scenario. He made up all sorts of scenarios to cut the neighbor�s cord to his generator line etc. I don�t know what had me laughing more, the room temperature Cape Cod I was drinking or Z�s imaginative stealth recon type scenarios of how to cut the din of the neighbor�s generator, or how he�d like to run a line off of said neighbor�s generator to his house etc.

When things get bad, you�ve always got comedy people. *FOR REAL*. Don�t ever forget that.

Here are some signs of how we knew it was �getting� bad.

- You can see all the way to the back of the grocery store�s shelving units

- No �D� batteries to be purchased in the entire state of Maryland

- Restaurant wait times are 1 hr. minimum or 2 hrs. + maximum

- People lined up 25 deep + at the FOOD COURT, in the mall

- People ate catsup and mustard

- Dry ice isn�t even being distributed

- Sanitation removal has not taken place for 2 weeks. Mounds of stacked hefty bags neatly line both sides of the street

- The Red Cross and the Salvation Army are feeding families twice daily

- Boats are the main mode of transportation

Here are some good things that have come out of this storm:

- Neighbors checking on one another

- Folks yielding & giving the right of way, at intersections where traffic lights are out

- Groups of men and boys wielding chain saws, rakes and drive tractors and wagons are cutting felled trees and taming wayward branches

- Moms and daughters are sharing lemonade, iced tea, sandwiches and chips with neighbors involved in the clean up efforts

- Neighbors with generators inviting others over for hot showers and some hospitality

- Neighbors watching children while their parents go off to work

- Electric technicians from states outside of Maryland with a kind word and a smile, telling us �help is on the way�, and �hang in there.�

All that said, there were TONS of moments when Isabelle and her associated inconveniences rattled a person�s last nerve; but for each single moment like that, there were at least 10 other moments to match it, marked by genuine kindness, care for others, and pitch-in-and-get-it-done-ness which down right made me proud to be an American in America.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -