10:41 a.m. - 2003-01-18
The last 40

The last 40

I had a conversation with my Guardian Angel and surrogate Older sister Viv a couple days ago.

She was checking on me, and sharing her New Year�s Resolutions with me.

After bringing me up to speed on my niece, nephew, and my brother-in-law, I shared some great news with her.

My doctor told me that I have 40 lbs. remaining to loose.

Forty pounds may seem like a lot, but it is a small amount when compared to the 133lbs. I�ve lost and kept off since 1999. I won�t bore you with the details of my extended terminal illness, but that� is what attributed to my weight gain.

Over the past few years, I�ve made efforts to rebuild my self image, as well as learn to take better care of myself and live healthier overall. Along the way I�ve made my fair share of mistakes. Overall I�ve learned an immense amount particularly how to listen to and understand my body�s vernacular.

I am overjoyed, really happier than overjoyed, but I don�t know what adjective to use to describe that � so I�ll go with overjoyed.

I sat down to think this over, and to formulate a real life plan which could be carried out in small bits without me getting tired, frustrated, overwhelmed or obsessive. A heaping order�right?!

It took a little while but I figured out that I could safely loose 2.5lbs. per week, which would total 10lbs. a month for a period of let�s say 4 months. (As a safety net, I decided that I�d be satisfied losing that same weight over a period of 6 months.) I wanted to know if I was off base or if this was really achievable � I have this bad habit of setting nefariously high goals, then being utterly and totally disappointed with myself if I should fall a smidgen short.

Viv thought it over and replied that she knew I could accomplish this goal. I should tell you that she�s very much an optimist, like me, and has been sweet and supportive over the past 2 years we�ve been �sisters�.

Sometimes we all need 1 person to believe in us, to help reinforce what we think or feel. I am blessed to have Viv in my corner.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -