7:43 p.m. - 2004-02-13
Sadness

Last night while MumW and I were shopping for a replacement counter top at L0ew's (one of my favorite places to browse b-t-w), I received a voicemail from a dear friend, whom I regard as my sister.

Her grandmother passed away. One moment I was laughing my head off with MumW, the next moment I silently strained to force the words out my mouth, to speak with her.

What kind of friend am I? Obviously, not a good one.

I gave MumW the phone, I needed a moment to compose myself, and to get my vocabulary together. MumW is such a graceful champ she got the convo going then handed the cell phone back to me. I was then able to speak sans stuttering and awkward, pregnant pauses.

I asked her for the number to the funeral home, tomorrow directly after church, I�ll call to find out if the family is accepting flowers, or a donation to charity etc.

To cheer me up, MumW treated me to an Atkins Wrap at Subway. Have ya�ll tried one? I love �em.

Ordinarily I scarf my food down (not healthy, I know � I�m working on it), but not last night. I ate and thought. Pretty soon I was feeling full and just decided to quit eating.

Last night as I tried to sleep I kept thinking of my own Grannie and her funeral some near 9 years ago. Emotions flooded the darkness, before I knew it sleep was upon me.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -