3:30 a.m. - 2004-06-05
Not Your Average Rookie (Newsie)

It is raining cats, dogs and cicadas.

I wished the WTOP staff would stop saying "we are experiencing light showers in the WTOP listening area".

Lying mother-freakers.

This was no LIGHT SHOWER!

Okay, now where was I?...Oh yes, I was determined to show up for this audition.

Like a genius I stayed up talking on the phone, w-a-a-a-y past my bedtime. This translated in 90 minutes of sleep. I did say I was a "genius" right?!...

Anyhoo, I arrived at the drop site. Something had gone down. I didn't realize it initially. Within moments I observed 3 police cruisers approaching.

2 officers entered the Dollar Store. They drew their weapons. I kept thinking that maybe I should move my car because all I could envision was

p-e-r-r-r--i-o-i-n-g

(the sound I think a stray bullet makes)

I decided to stay put. I thought that my movement may draw unnecessary suspicion.

As it turns out, it was a great idea that I didn't move. An officer asked me what time I happened upon the premises I replied "2:47".

He asked me if I saw anything. I replied "no sir".

He asked "had this already happened by the time you arrived?" I replied "Yes sir".

I then asked him if they checked the upstairs part of the store, he said "yes".

I added "I know the family that owns this shop, they are friends with my mom." He then asked me if I knew their phone number, I told him no, then added that I knew which apartment complex they resided in.

As it turned out, their store is located in Prince George's County, meanwhile they reside in Montgomery County. The officer took a moment to try to decide what he should do, whom he should call, etc.

I sat quietly, watching the "PO POs" do their crime fighting thing.

The minutes eeked by, almost in a sort of painful slow motion.

I caught myself mumbling "Where are you Bobbie Frazer?"

The �light shower� continued to pummel my car.

I turned the window defroster on and off. It was taking a concerted effort to keep the windshield clear.

I never realized before now, just how noisy windshield wipers are.

...Sheez...stupid wipers, I can�t hear what the PO POs are saying.

*dag*

For some mysterious reason, my nerves were remarkably calm.

Maybe I was suffering from a case of �one track mind�.

The most important thing aside from attending Econ class was doing well on this audition.

At 3:30 a.m. BF arrived. We talked, shook hands and began working.

I would later learn that he is a former Marine (they say once a Marine, always a Marine), Semper Fi *hu hu* and all that military jazz�

BF and I got along fine. I decided to tell him about my parents' military careers and a little about me, to break the ice.

He told me about himself, we laughed and talked as if we were old friends.

I can tell that he's very laid back and just wants to help good people.

He said that he didn't think I'd show b/c of the downpour. I told him nothing would keep me from auditioning, especially since I�d given him my word. He just smiled.

We proceeded to work through the morning. I let him know that I had Econ class to attend at 9a.m.

It was at this moment I truly began to regret not having gone to sleep. I knew that I'd pay for last night�s poor decision making later as the morning wore on.

As it turned out, BF and I did just fine.

He says he'll ride with me until I know the route by heart.

He wished me well at the drop site, while smiling we both said "see you tomorrow at 3:30".

Later today I'll call these Losers and let them know that I got the audition and that I won't be returning - they can mail my paycheck directly to the house. No point in subjecting myself to interrogation and unnecessary drama.

BF told me after I'd called him, that 3 others had called asking for MY route.

Smiling inwardly, I told him �timing in life is everything, and what is intended for a person is INTENDED.� He nodded his head in agreement as a smile crept over his face.

Never before did the words "carpe diem" mean so much to me, as they did on this morning.

F.G. Tracy, the high school principal used to say�

"If it is to be, it is up to me."

I told BF I prefer to work smart, not to work hard. He agreed with me.

I get the feeling we are gonna work out just fine.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -