10:51 p.m. - 2004-03-13
No R.E.S.P.E.C.T. Dancing on the Block, in the Hopes of a Better, Brighter Future

Last week, while at work, I overheard two men talking. They said they did not respect any women who stripped, danced, or worked at a place like �who-ters� to earn money, in order to attend college.

These two guys did not consider any of the possible reasons a woman would see those places, as her only possible alternatives to earn money to educate herself; thereby potentially improving her life situation. Instead, �Burp and Slup� said that it was a total lack of value, for one�s self as a person, which allowed one to work in such a place. Really now?..what made �Burp and Slurp� experts on this subject?

�Burp and Slurp� then closed their conversation with the profound question of, �Who would do *THAT* kind of work, when �anybody� could go out and get a student loan.�

While I was clandestinely privy to this conversation, I was provoked into thinking about what �Burp and Slurp� said and *how* they said it.

First and foremost, I don�t think any less of ANY person who works legally, to earn a living.

The harsh realities:

-All of us can not work in a comfortable office from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

-Not all of us can secure a loan, to include student loans.

-Every single person on the planet does not know, or have access to, every single possible alternative, which may exist.

The small mindedness, which permits any of us to pass judgment, upon the lifestyle and fate of another, is just mind blowing and upsetting (to me).

I can�t begin to understand what a woman must go through night after night working as a dancer, in a gentleman�s club, or as a waitress who is constantly objectified as �part of her job�. I can�t lie and say that I �know�, it can�t be that hard. The truth is, I don�t know. Thankfully I�ve never been in that situation, I�m not qualified to speak on the topic.

Movies like The Player�s Club and Strip Tease, whose lead characters are women trying to accomplish a goal; using dancing as a means to accomplish an end, are not accurate typifications of *ALL* women, in this same or similar situations.

Sociologically speaking there are few examples, in which one could state �ALL� in reference to anything, and have that broad, sweeping, generalization weigh in as being accurate for every single living being on the planet.

What I do know, is that I disagreed strongly, No, I disagree vehemently, with �Mr. Burp and Mr.Slurp�.

I don�t believe women who work in these professions *ALL* want to do this type of work. The fact of the matter is that it pays, and in some instances it likely pays way way better than my corporate 9 to 5 does.

When all is said and done, I don�t have a right to pass judgement, on anyone, nor did or do �Burp and Slurp�.

I am left to wonder if other men share �Burp and Slurp�s� opinion and or mindset�


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -