5:27 p.m. - 2004-06-24
Moving Beyond Fear

I went to dinner with someone who had been a close and true friend.

In our youth, we each did some things, we each said some things and in the end, we each parted and went our separate ways.

She reached out for the 2nd time, asking for us to try again.

We met for dinner.

She brought along her 2-year old daughter.

The irony of how long our life paths have diverged was apparent to me, the precise moment I looked into her daughter�s bright eyes.

I was totally relaxed, smiling, chatting and even at some points laughing.

Motherhood seems to have changed my former best friend, all to her credit.

She looked amazing and seemed ever so sincere about us starting anew.

Her daughter and I hit it off really well. So much so that she had her mom smiling most of the evening.

We promised to get together again soon.

* * *

Sometimes, it takes the very smallest action on one�s part to move beyond the cocoon of safety and security known as the comfort zone.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -