7:15 p.m. - 2002-10-24
Life�s Lessons: Patience

Life�s Lessons: Patience

I just finished having a conversation with my dad, via email. It may sound contrived; however we�ve all but stopped writing old fashioned letters by hand, in favor of this newer way of communication. Honestly I miss that anxious, yet positive rush I�d get, while walking up to my p.o. box, "knowing" that correspondence from dad would be in there. I'm smiling now, just thinking about it. He has the prettiest handwriting for a man, I�ve ever seen. I�m blessed, I have penmanship similar to his with only a few slight variances.

I believe that [my] life is a series of journeys; varying in length and intensity. I�m not fond of having to repeat things. Especially painful/unpleasant/embarrassing situations. I�d like to think, that I grasp the point or lesson the first go round. Blessed I am; and grateful for that gift/talent. - Thank You God.

Lately however, I seem to be in a place, along my life path in which I�m having experiences that nearly parallel other personal life experiences. Not that this is either a good or bad thing, but I can�t help but attempt without end, gathering the similarities; and the differences in an effort to formulate some semblance of purpose from them. My mind, if you will, appears to be caught in a virtual syntax loop. This isn�t one of those situations where others can help me figure out the how and why. It�s one of those vital life lessons in which I must find my own truth in order to press forward.

Trouble is, I�m lacking something terrible with respect to self-patience. In dealing with others I have and abundance of patience. I suppose it may be helpful to think of myself as �Michelle� so that I could at least attempt to exercise patience with my alter ego.

I have often told others that all things happen for a reason. I believe that. I am a Christian, I am saved and as such, I believe that all things work for the good of those who love the Lord. I love the Lord, therefore it goes without saying that my faith permits or affords me the luxury of believing that this continuum I am in, will soon pass and thereafter clarity will follow.

This leads me to remember the bumper sticker that Mrs. Johnson & the Praise Team displayed on their vehicles "Let Go and Let God"

Patience IS a virtue.

http://www.bartleby.com/100/

John Bartlett (1820- 1905) Familiar Quotations, 10th ed. 1919

Number 542

Author: William Shakespeare (1564 � 1616)

�T is all men�s office to speak patience

To those that wring under the load of sorrow,

But no man�s virtue nor sufficiency

To be so moral when he shall endure

The like himself.

Attribution: Much Ado about Nothing, Act v, Sc. 1.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -