12:59 a.m. - 2003-04-23
Lean On Me

It unfolded minutes before 6pm. My cell phone rang. I smiled upon hearing her voice. It was S. My smile faded as I heard what I perceived to be a bit of tension and anxiety, in her tone. She began sharing details, of what had transpired only hours before, I sat silently, my eyebrows raised into my hair line.

She paused, I distinctly heard her swallow. Resisting the urge to interrupt her, she asked dryly if I had �plans� to drive by her home this evening. She and I both know, that her home is in the complete opposite direction I travel, in order to go home each night. Knowingly, I nodded. [In retrospect this was foolish. She could not see me nodding � why was I doing that?!]

Without hesitation, I promised her I�d be there. She didn�t need to, but she said this �I need you right now, I need you and your bartending skills, most of all I need a woman, my best friend, who isn�t a Spastic female. You are the only girl friend I can call, and I know you�ll be level headed and you are the only one who can talk me down from this.� I told her that it would be alright. We each said �I love you�, ending our conversation.

With ears buzzing, heart and mind spinning, I sat in my office chair, shifting, attempting to steady myself. I could feel tears welling up. I got up and said a quick prayer. I thought to myself��I don�t know what words I�ll use tonight, but I need all of the help the Almighty can grant me.�

S is six years my Senior, newly widowed, mother of 3, career woman handling multi million perhaps multi billion dollar accounts for our firm, and a role model / sisterfriend / and play mom. She�s holding it down. Most definitely I love this woman and look up to her. There is no way in Heaven, or on Earth that I was going to let her go through this alone.

While preparing to leave my office, I replayed our exchange. I felt stunned, at what she thought of me � all awesome and wonderful things - Yes. Nonetheless I was jarred by her words. I dismissed my thoughts and later revisited them, while driving home.

In the grand scheme of things, this isn�t about me, although she�s the cause for a wonderful feeling sweeping over me. If I didn�t know before, I know now how she feels about me.

I was on the phone last night with a dear DEAR friend, and although I rudely fell asleep on you, (1000 apologies), you managed to help me find both and peace and slumber last night � and for that blessing I Thank You.

I awoke with this song in my heart, which I�m emailing to S.

Lean On Me, By Bill Withers

Sometimes in our lives we all have pain / We all have sorrow / But if we are wise / We always know that there's tomorrow

Lean on me, when you're not strong / And I'll be your friend / I'll help you carry on / For it won't be long /Til I'm gonna need / Somebody to lean on

Please swallow your pride / If I have things you need to borrow / For no one can fill those of your needs / That you don't let show

Lean on me, when you're not strong / And I'll be your friend / I'll help you carry on / For it won't be long / 'Til I'm gonna need / Somebody to lean on

If there is a load you have to bear / That you can't carry / I'm right up the road / I'll share your load / If you just call me

So just call on me brother, when you need a hand / We all need somebody to make it / I just might have a problem that you'd understand / We all need somebody to make it

Lean on me when you're not strong / And I'll be your friend / I'll help you carry on / For it won't be long / Till I'm gonna need / Somebody to lean on

Lean on me...


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -