6:23 p.m. - 2003-02-27
It�s a Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

It�s a Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

Hello Neighbor!

As a latch-key kid of the 70s, Mr. Rogers, Wonderama, Kids are People Too, The Electric Company and Sesame Street casts comprised my family.

While commuting to my office, I received this bit of information courtesy of NPR�

�Mr. Fred Rogers, creator and star of Mr. Rogers Neighborhood died today, at the age of 75. Rogers succumbed to Cancer of the stomach.

Upon hearing the news, I could not help but simultaneously feel a lump in my throat, accompanied by a wayward flock of butterflies in my stomach, and general feeling of uneasiness.

There are times when receive news, and it hits me so hard, I feel sick all over. Hearing about Mr. Rogers made me sad, and I realized all at once that there was nothing I could do about his passing. I am not plunged into the depths of depression; as I have experience with death and bereavement; yet I can�t help but feel someone special has gone away from us.

I grew up a latch-key kid, and he was part of my world, in the 70s.

Its my opinion, that Fred worked tirelessly to make the world was a better place, by presenting values and lessons, in a way that made learning fun and interesting. I feel my little corner of the world was brightened, shaped and made better because of Mr. Rogers.

I for one, will miss him terribly.

Rest in Peace Mr. Rogers


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -