02: a.m. - 2003-11-11
I Wish My Father Was a Carpenter

This summer, I�d volunteered to assemble my girlfriend / classmate's entertainment system. Oh boy!...how I wished she�d let me do it during the summer, when I initially offered.

DC* and her husband (DC2*) have company coming in a few days. In preparation DC cleaned her entire house.

Take a wild guess, as to when DC* wanted the behemoth doohickey of an entertainment system assembled?...If you guessed Veteran's Day � then you are absolutely correct...Well Great! (not), except for the fact, that the stock market is open Tuesday, therefore my office is open.

*sigh*

Mother May I?...catch a break? What about 1/2 a break?!...

Last night, directly after work, I was entangled in the most tremendous traffic caused by other people who had accidents on I-95 South.

While driving, I listened to WBAL�s talk radio program. I learned deer had been struck in so many places the talk radio traffic program stopped listing each occurrence and its resulting delays. Rather they cautioned drivers which wooded routes NOT to take.

Apparently it�s open season. The deer are making their presence known and looking for food. Most of the food sources have been depleted because we humans want to build in the pretty wooded areas.

I wonder why no one ever thought to sell these luxury town homes and condos to the doe(s), buck(s) and Bambi(s) out there.

*sigh*

Out of necessity I stopped to fill the Green Machine with gasoline. DC* called my cell and asked if I could buy her some popcorn. Sure�what are friends for?!...

I went into Safeway it was, bright, amply stocked and full of people. Actually it felt good to be in there the heat was set perfectly it was toasty! I wanted to buy everything I saw and those of you who know me, know that I�m no impulse shopper.

Who knew heat makes you wanna shop when its freezing outside?!...Who knew?

I made my purchases. Shortly thereafter I arrived at DC* and DC2�s home at 8pm. As I walked up to their front door I couldn�t help but think �I should've been there at 7�. I ate din din then began working on my assembly project.

DC2* arrived and pitched in. I was ever so grateful for another pair of hands.

The 3 of us kept working and working and working and working and working.

When I finally looked up, I was delirious, sweat fell from both my brows, all the while I was unable to stop yawning. I spied that the clock said 2:00!

Holy cow! I had to leave immediately. I had no idea what time it was.

DC* and DC2* are government workers, they have Tuesday off.

I left DC2 assembling a drawer. I also left my Ryobi drill with them, �just in case� they needed it.

I could barely drive home (luckily they live approx. 5 minutes from my home).

I stumbled into the house and fell into bed.

I awoke with what feels like sand grit and pepper in my eyes.

Thank God for Ginseng supplements and caffeinated coffee.

I suppose, I was having 2 tons of fun...that�ll teach me to try to do a project on a school night.

I only wished my Earthly Father was a Caprenter...


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -