2:05 p.m. - 2003-01-20
HBD MLK!

Happy Birthday MLK!

Dear Dr. King:

I am writing you this letter although I know you are in Heaven.

I believe that there is a place called Heaven, and I am certain you are there organizing, teaching, preaching and in general spending a great deal of effort to ensure that Heaven remains fair and equitable for all of the Angels.

Dr. King, I wish with all my heart I could write to you, with good news, detailing that life here on Earth is going smoothly. Alas, it isn�t. It saddens me so deeply, to watch the news reports and read the daily newspaper. It seems as if each day there are more grotesque and unimaginable cruelties occurring.

I am an Optimist and try as I might, I wish I could say we are all carrying on your legacy. I look around and see examples of individuals as well as organizations who are doing the complete opposite.

Dr. King, I do want to let you know that your imagery is being used in a great many forms of media. I don�t believe there are educated people, on the face of the Earth, who could honestly claim they don�t know who you were, what you stood for, or even still what you did while you were here with us on Earth.

Your family has continued to work, tirelessly, to continue the Fight for Human Rights and Advancement.

Dr. King in closing I wanted to let you know how much I appreciate all that you did. The sacrifices you made in being away from Coretta and your young children. Your tireless efforts to support the cause of both Equality and Humanity, at all costs. I can�t Thank you enough, for having a dream, for believing in it, and more importantly heeding the call to put action behind it.

I can�t imagine what life would be like, if there was never a Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Because of you Dr. King, I don�t have to imagine it all.

Happy Birthday Dr. King.

May God Rest Your Soul.
Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -