12:00 p.m. - 2002-10-10
Happy Birthday To Me, Happy Birthday To Me,

October 10, 2002

Happy Birthday To Me, Happy Birthday To Me,

Happy Birthday Dearest Souljourn,

Happy Birthday To YOU!

I was born today, 10/10/70, in the District of Columbia. to immigrant parents. While they possessed little materially they were abundantly rich with dreams and positive aspirations for our future.

Dad hoped and prayed for me to happen. Mom planned on waiting a few years. My arrival was very much a surprise. I interrupted one of the most fierce club parties in history at approximately 2 a.m. Mother dressed in a baby doll dress, knee length, white go-go boots with platform heels and nylons, hair coifed in a beehive and yes, ladies and gentlemen she was wearing a hairpiece to support that impressive, massive Aqua Net laden up doo. I know it may seem hard to believe, but mom didn�t know she was pregnant. The pains in her stomach were interrupting her good time. She continued dancing on the speaker, drinking and smoking her long, slender, brown �More� cigarettes. Hers was a mission not to be interrupted. After she could bear the pain no longer, she told my father that something was really wrong and that she thought she needed to go to the hospital. Panicked dad called a cab. The driver, a Ghanian expatriate would later become my uncle. He transported mom, dad and me to the hospital. I wish I describe the ride to the hospital, but I can�t remember it. No matter how hard I try, I simply can�t recall it. We arrived at the hospital, after a brief ride, mom�s pain increased, while her charming personality decreased exponentially. Dad�s eyes darted around the Emergency Room � he observed and noted that there were lots of other people waiting for medical attention; however mom was his primary concern. After completing the formality that is hospital paperwork, he sat along with the dutiful, faithful cab driver in the waiting room. They waited, and waited and waited. Drifting in and out of sleep, while thinking about his aching feet in his black, leather, ankle high, dress boots with the shiny black zippers my father began thinking about what could possibly be afflicting mother. It wasn�t too longer after that, a doctor approached my father, smiling, then extending his hand � in what looked to be a handshake. Dad was perplexed. Why is he trying to shake my hand?! Then the news� Congratulations, you are the proud father of a beautiful, healthy, baby girl. Some sound most likely similar to 2 trains colliding head-on, coupled with the cheering sounds at the stroke of midnight ushering in a New Year, father mustered a smile, cleared his throat and in a weary, strained voice said �I am?!� Immediately he began walking. He had no idea what room mother and I was in, but he was determined to see us. The doctor and the cab driver started off after him.

One thing I�ve got to tell you about my dad. He is tall and thin. He walks with long, purposeful, confident strides. I can almost picture my doctor and the cabby breaking into a mini trot to catch up with dad. Know what?! I walk the very same way dad does. My gait un-nerves folk whose extremities are short.

No matter my destination, my gait remains the same�a glimpse of how much, and to what depths, I truly am My Father�s Daughter.

I was everything he hoped for, everything he dreamed of, everything he ever wanted. How do I know?! Here�s proof:

----Original Message Follows----

From: "AS"

To: ms

Subject: Your worth

Date: Sat, 28 Sep 2002 03:36:34 +0000

Dearest L,

If ever you have self-doubts, remember this:-

Your presence in this world has had a tremendous ripple effect which will be creating eddies long after you are gone...

Your Mom & I got Permanent Residency in the U.S.A. through our relationship to you as American born, and thereafter we were privileged to obtain U.S. Citizenship, and the ripple began...

Annissa* got U.S.Citizenship, I was able to migrate Nehru*, Mena*, Aliea*, Mom*, Yaska*, and Sherry*, and Connie* got U.S. residency and later U.S. Citizenship. Nirvana* & Jan* were able to be born U.S. Citizens, and now Annissa* too will be able to enjoy U.S. citizenship and whomever Nirvana*, Jan* and Annissa* marries and their children, subsequent generations and on and on ad infinitum. The mere miracle of your birth has provided economic and life freedoms to a host of people, some of whom have not been born yet. And this is only on my side of the family.

Top this with how much you benefited the descendants on your Mother's side of the family.

Top this with the joy you have brought into our lives, your fertile brain, imagination, philosophy, love, companionship, sense of fair play and equity and mentoring. And just think you are still a work in progress...

Just knowing you are there makes my day; and did I say you showed me the wonder of the world with new appreciation through your eyes and unique point of view? "THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH"

Never thought of saying this to you before, but became burdened today to let you know. Perhaps GOD spoke to my unconscious.

Anyway there it is.

Apologies for not telling you sooner.

Hope you have a wonderful weekend!!

All my love

Dad

XOX

I love my Father more than anyone else in the world. God in Heaven first, then A.S. my biological, Earthly Father � heavenly as he is. We share a relationship that transcends boundaries. There is an understanding of things yet unspoken, and unrealized. A respect and affection genuine and indestructible. He is the #1 man in my life, the standard against which all men in my life are judged or graded. He gives me all that I need, want and could ever hope for. Because of him, I believe with all my heart that my life is filled with endless possibilities. He is my hero, my mentor, my Angel, my strength, my saving Grace, my better half. He is my ROCK.

I AM a Daddy�s Girl � and there�s no 2 ways about it.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -