10:10 p.m. - 2003-04-18
Good Friday turns Great Friday

It drizzled non stop, To Do List in hand, I was a woman undeterred.

After completing cursory work out regimen and errands, I officially began my day with an 11 o�clock appointment at JB & Friends Hair Designers, an Aveda concept salon.

JB�s is located in the scenic town of Dunkirk. I lost count how many miles the salon is, from the house, but the view of wide green pastures and healthy lush trees swaying in the light drizzle took complete hold of me. This was the very scene I�d envisioned, for where I wanted to own a home. Many of these homes sit on multi acre lots, all of which used to be Tobacco�s �land of milk and honey�. Years later and nearly as much legislation, finds the tobacco farms re-developed into spacious lots all of which boast privacy and a country, small townie feel.

I will unabashedly admit that I was waxing all kinds of nostalgic, while trying to locate the salon. The drive back home was much too short.

This was my very first Aveda experience, and I must say that I�m terribly impressed with Karen, the salon, it�s products and the bouncing and behaving coif I�m sporting.

JB & Friends is owned by 3 best girl friends, all of whom went to beauty school together, worked in their first salon together and got the notion to open their own place. Co-owner Karen Mangum* and I, spent some time getting acquainted. I noticed immediately, she asked important questions about my lifestyle, level of activity, amount of time I had available to fix my hair, my typical hair care routine and my level of experience / competency maintaining various hairstyles.

I was relieved that she�d cared enough to phrase intelligent and pertinent questions. I did not have to endure any stereotypical mindless salon prattle. She even took me into enough confidence, as to let me in on the secret of where the best Cheesecakes and tortes could be purchased (turns out this gem of a place is a couple of buildings down from the salon, wouldn�t you know it?! I plan on stopping by there my next hair appointment; scheduled in 6 wks.)

Once I�d had my hair shampooed and conditioned, Karen gently combed out my tresses and asked me if I knew about Locks of Love . I had never heard of it. She took a few moments to explain their mission, and mentioned that JB & Friends was an authorized donor salon participant.

It took me exactly one second to decide to donate 16 inches of my natural hair to Locks of Love. I�ll be posting the pictures of my donated hair and my new coif; once they are developed.

I came away with a positive overall impression of JB & Friends. All of the ladies are professional, polite and personable. I was pampered in the salon, talked to as if I were a long time regular customer, and made to feel completely welcomed. After that hair donation they all encouraged me to come back and bring friends too.

Sooo�if you haven�t been to an Aveda salon, check them out and have an Aveda experience of your own. Afterall, life�s too short not to be pampered.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -