8:01 p.m. - 2005-02-18
Farewell JB


Tonight Mw and I took my best friend JB out for dinner. It was a farewell dinner.

As I think about it, my heart just feels heavier and heavier. She's going back home to the "Motor City" and while I know it is all for the best, a small selfish part of me wants her here.

We grew close quickly and I have come to realize how much she means to me.

I have tried to comfort her, like any good friend would, by saying we will be up to visit. She smiles and for now it seems to work (the comforting I mean).

I wish I could comfort myself.

I am hiding what I'm feeling because her situation is complicated, I am the least of her worries, she is a mom, the oldest of her 2 adorable little ones is 2 years of age, the youngest, her son a mere 9 months old.

So, while it is perfectly fine for me to go through this feeling of loss, a mini mourning period if you will, in the context of what she will have to go through to re-settle and get back to work, etc. is a far larger task bearing much more weight.

Time spent reflecting on my female relationships. I am proud of how far I've managed to come. Miles yet to go, however the point of this diatribe is that I am able to trust women, and be friends with them, I seek their company and as I shake my head in the affirmative, we have good times together.

Best girl friends...nothing like em.

JB you haven't left the area yet, but my heart misses you and the children already.

*sigh*


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -