12:36 p.m. - 2002-12-17
Exhilaration

Exhilaration

I ventured into Owings Mill Town Center tonight, to begin my holiday shopping. I had my gift list and money. I spent 2 hours visiting stores and making my purchases. Ordinarily I do not like shopping malls and crowds, although tonight, everyone seems to be in the holiday spirit. I heard a number of �please�, �thank you� and �you�re welcome�, along with �Season�s Greetings� and �Happy Holidays� � that is what I�m talking about. I love to seek folks being polite and helpful to each other. I observed that there were a great many people shopping, and the food court was full � I would suppose that�s a given. I managed to get the majority of what I wanted, and I plan to make several shorter trips back to the mall and nearby stores, during my lunch break, over the course of this week. *She writes this with as much hope as she can muster, she knows full well that it is hectic at the office, and that there are several team mates out on holiday. You know what they say about the best laid plans�*

After accomplishing my shopping, I treated myself to dinner at Chick Fil A - not exactly a white table cloth establishment, but it�s a treat. Oh how I love their chicken sandwiches. *Yum*

Once I arrived at home, I was unable to settle into my evening routine. More than 2 hrs. past my bedtime, I�m in bed, lights out, baby blue nightlight on, staring into the ceiling and at the light patterns which danced across the ceiling as cars pulled into and out of, our cul de sac.

Truth of the matter is I�m excited. So excited, that my weary eyelids can�t close. My mind is swirling like a kaleidoscope. Aside from the upcoming holiday, I don�t know why - no matter, there needn�t be a reason for every single solitary thing. For the record, I�ll take happiness, personal contentment and excitement any day of the week.

While I am in bed, I am making mental notes all over the place, 1. must wrap gifts this weekend, 2. must get some pretty pink wrapping paper (for A* � her 6th birthday is Friday but she�s having a surprise slumber party on Saturday and I�m invited don�t ya know. I saw some Powerpuff Girls wrapping paper in K-B toy store, in retrospect, I should�ve purchased it. No matter, I�ll get it tomorrow.), 3. must get a present for Mom Jenkins and for Auntie, 4. must get Holiday cards, 5. must get some gold curling ribbon.

�from a corner of my mind, I begin thinking�Sandman where are you?!...I�ve got to wake up and go to work in a few hours.

I know what it is that I need to do in order to drift off to sleep�I begin thinking of my favorite spot on the island, I can hear how the water sounds as it gently laps onto the sand, I can feel a crystal clear tranquility coming over me. As always, it�s working, I�m as content right at this moment, as I�ve ever ever been�I�m drifting off�

Zz Zz Zz

I am beginning to truly understand why some people regard this as the best time of the year. My spirit feels a bit intoxicated. There is a peace and tranquility I feel inside. I sure wish I could bottle this feeling.

*Correction* A* will be 7 on Friday (12/20).
Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -