2:07 p.m. - 2003-06-05
Dinner, Dessert, Billiards, and�

I had the pleasure last evening, of sharing dinner, dessert, company and conversation with JayW*.

My mother used to tell me and my cousins to �go play in traffic�, when we were getting on her last nerve. I could make a comment about her last nerve, instead I�ll exercise some restraint.

JayW* and I did met in traffic. That must sound completely absurd. My hand to God, it�s the truth. Later we talked on the tele, he got right to the point, with a dinner invite.

While having dessert, unexpectedly he and I met a friend (of his), who�d mistaken him for a chef. Moments later Shaku* and JayW* were engrossed in a friendly yet competitive game of billiards.

Earlier in the evening we talked about a variety of topics, including our love for sports and our individual competitive spirits. From where I sat, it was sheer delight observing him play, (meanwhile I kept my other eye on Jason Kidd and the boys). I caught him glancing my way, each time he broke into a huge smile. Several times he looked directly at me, before making his shot, as if seeking my opinion and or confirmation of his impending shot. I�d promptly nodded, each time, without hesitation he�d sent the ball with pinpoint precision into the appropriately called pocket.

*sigh*

After the game, (sadly he did loose to Shaku*, by one ball,) we continued talking; he over Hennessy w/ Coke, me over a Cubra Libra. After alternating between laughter and discussion (which ran the gamut) we decided to call it a night (it was afterall a �school night�).

I listened as he drove and spoke. His voice was low, gentle and steady. He kept looking at me, then looking quickly at the road. It almost seemed as if driving was distracting him from talking. I took note of his good sportsmanship earlier, and made mention of it. He smiled and said that the only reason he�d lost the game, was so that he could hurry back to me. Okay he definitely had me at that point, a moment later I was laughing to the point of tears, because he did this Chester Cheetos grin that simply broke the moment.

I see he�s got a healthy sense of humor. That�s a great thing. I enjoy laughing and having a good time. I want the people around me to enjoy themselves, and be as happy as humanly possible too.

We sat talking for two hours as a gentle rain pittered and pattered against the windshield. When I looked at the clock and realized it was minutes before midnight, he caught my glance and ushered me out, just like Cinderella.

Neither of us wanted the evening to draw to a close, however I have a one way commute of 67 miles, we both have work, he also knows I train at 4 a.m. Half apologizing he remarked that he�d wished it was a Friday or Saturday night. I know what he meant, and at that exact moment, I can say I know how he felt too.

There are still nice men in the world. It takes time to cross paths with them. I�m blessed to have made his acquaintance, and to have had this special time with him. I have no idea where this will lead, but last night for what it was worth just felt plain good, to be in the company of a man so open, honest, entertaining and interesting.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -