12:59 a.m. - 2003-09-7
Days in the Desert

I spent a couple days in the desert. The occasion was my 15th high school reunion.

We stayed at The Excalibur Hotel. The reason this hotel was chosen is because of our high school mascot etc. I had no idea what to expect, The Excalibur has 4,032 rooms, 28 floors, Tower 2, (where I stayed) had a breath taking view of the sunrise, sunset and the city and strip of Las Vegas proper. I managed to stay awake to witness 2 sunrises and 2 sunsets. I was completely blown away by the colorful spectacle, and powerful majesty of the desert, mountains, cliffs and bluffs in the nearby distance.

While there, I had a lot of time to think about my life, and direction I�m going in. I also had time to eat and rest and just �be� � I needed that. I also thought long and hard about the �romance department� and I have begun to make some definite decisions there.

Overall I am optimistic. I have to admit that my life right now, today, is exactly what I�d wanted for such a long time. My reality is that I am tried, on the brink of exhaustion but to be honest it�s the �good kind� of exhaustion, if you get what I�m struggling to say.

The reason I am tired mentally and physically is because I�m pushing myself to do the highest quality of work possible. I want to be at the very top of my academic class because of the goals I�ve set. The level of competition in the agencies is mind boggling � however I believe I am up to the challenge.

Damn this does feel good.

All right my moment of bravado machismo is finished. *I promise*.

It was true joy and real pleasure to see my classmates and hang out hours upon hours beyond bedtime.

Hard to wrap my mind around the fact that its been 15 years since we�d attended high school, in West Germany, at Ramstein American High School.

We are proud, we are The Ramstein Royals no matter how old we are, we will always be.

Sitting together we must have looked like a mini U.N. committee, or in the very least UNICEF�s International Ambassador poster kids. Each time we were asked if we were related everyone replied �yes�. That felt good. Real good. After all these years we all still feel the same about each other. I�m heady and I miss them all something terrible.

We laughed, talked, cried, hugged, ate, partied and drank together.

If felt as if time stood still.

I was proud and amazed that each time we gather together, we were able to enjoy one another�s company for HOURS on end without a single fight�that�s better than biological family!

I had serious misgivings about leaving them and leaving my desert Sunday morning.

I�m back in Maryland, but in all truth a part of my heart is still in the desert.

I made a silent promise to myself.

I did not say goodbye because I will be back.
Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -