12:00 p.m. - 2004-12-25
12-25-04

It took Mw 6 hours to drive from Upper Marlboro, Maryland to Edisto Island, South Carolina!

We stopped for breakfast at Cracker Barrel . Boy was it ever delicious!

According to the map people at Rand McNally it is a 10 hour, 50 minute, 587 mile drive.

Jokingly we've told Mw that she is the official Nascar Pace Car Driver. That makes her laugh every single time.

She made great time because there was almost no traffic on the road, and the weather cooperated with us the entire way down.

We did run into a bit of rain once we arrived on Edisto Island but that couldn't dampen our spirits.

Mw put an apple pie into the oven, the minute we entered into the condo.

Oh my Goodness! You wanna talk about comfort?

The aroma of that pie cooking in the oven, washed over me!!! Any apprehension I may've felt about being in the condo and getting comfortable where dashed away nearly immediately.

We unpacked and setteled in.

I'd told Mw that I'd cook while we were away, this way she'd get a break.

We have worked so hard this year, we truly have earned these few days of rest and relaxation.

In my heart of hearts, I can't help but feel a twinge of guilt...

Lar and his buddies are out at Ft. Carson, and can be deployed any day now.

*sigh*

I get emotional just thinking about the war, and the soldiers, let alone my best friend (Mw's son), is just about to go back for his 2nd tour.

*sigh*

All I can do is try to find solace and comfort in prayer, and try to keep a smile on my face to help Mw keep her own spirits up.

It's Christmas Day, there's no snow outside, only rain and rain clouds, and I'm really far away from home. Despite all that, I'm happy and am having a tremendous time with Mw. It is quiet and still, the island is really beautiful and tranquil. I'm looking forward to seeing the sun set.

Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -