4:12 p.m. - 2004-11-15
11-15-04


My left arm is sore as *ish*. I broke down Saturday night taking 1 Advil for the discomfort. Ya know what?...2 days later my left bicep is still tender and a wee bit pink.

I awoke this morning to find not 1 but 2 fever blisters on my upper lip. I'm unhappy because I didn't even have any warning. No tell tale tingling sensation on my lip at all. Damn! I am using Abreva to treat them both. If they persist or increase in size I'll go to the Dr. for a Rx. I wonder what pathogen(s) my body is trying to resist, or if it was the flu shot that triggered the fever blisters?...

Scratch what I said about the shot itself being a trigger...I just read through the Abreva website, it could have been the cold, or fatigue caused by lack of sleep, either way both spots hurt like Hell!

Oww...Oww!...OWW!!...

Enough crying...

Now that I think of it, I wonder if the weight I've lost has made me into a skinner wimp?!...No one ever mentioned nor discussed in detail the probability of one's wimp quotient increasing with weight loss. Anyone out there an expert on "wimp quotients?"

*sigh* what a predicament right?!...

* * *

Today I had a lunch date with my nephew B. He's 4 years old. We went to his favorite restaurant ...He ordered a hamburger kids meal with ketchup and cheese, hold the pickels. I tried to explain to him that he wanted a cheeseburger plain with ketchup. To which he replied matter of factly "No". I conceeded knowing full well I was neither gonna win, nor change his mind.

I ordered his sandwich as a cheesburger with ketchup only. He tugged on my dungarees and said "Auntie 'Lissa - I sure hope they get my order right." I could've fallen out right there. The construction workers in line ahead of us just chuckeled and looked at him.

Picture that, at 4 years of age, he has already figured out the deal!

B decided we should eat lunch at Grannie's. Grannie is "Mw" but he doesn't know that, he just calls her Grannie.

While we ate, we talked about the importance of chewing food properly to avoid choking, while Clifford the Big Red dog then Arthur played in the background. B said "mommy says chew, chew, chew and guess what?...chew so more." I had to stifle my laugh, but began chewing, chewing, chewing and chewing. I swallowed then asked him how does he know when it is okay to swallow. He says when you feel your teeth cruch together then you are all done.

Who knew it was just that simple?... chew, chew, chew, chew some more then "crunch" and it's okay to swallow.

Soon after we'd eaten we played then setteled in to watch Blues Clues in Grannie's t.v. room. Guess who wanted a pillow and blanket? Honestly he wanted the pillow but I wanted the blanket. We snuggled and watched Blue and then Maisy, soon the door bell rang - it was daddy. B didn't want to leave, he hid under the blankey while I let his dad in.

Too cute.

I helped B put his shoes, hat and coat on, then walked him downstairs. Out of my car I retrieved his booster car seat, his very cool Spiderman backpack and his goodie bag (it was McKenzie's birthday today).

I watched as he climbed into his car seat and waved bye to me blowing kisses. At 4 years old and he's a precious old soul trapped in a little boy's body. I told his mom that he was a wonderful lunch date and that we had fun watching shows together. She knows how much I adore children's programming and cartoons. Hugs all around and off they went to meet the school bus (B's siblings go to "big school" and mom and dad meet the bus everyday).

* * *
It was special to have B as my lunch date, he certainly brightened my Monday.

Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -