10:04 a.m. - 2004-05-24
05-24-2004

From the pigskin to the sheepskin�

Saturday May 16th seemed to be just like any other Saturday. Commencement exercises were held at the Home of the Terrapins where big Baltimore Ravens' NFL defenseman Ray Lewis was amongst this year's graduates. Why do I bother to share this? Simple, in Western society we regard and compensate 2 industries well beyond that of education: entertainment and athletics - it's my opinion that the importance of education is downplayed tremendously, generally speaking.

I was pleasantly surprised to learn that Ray took the time to complete his education. I am not necessarily certain that in doing so, the prevailing attitudes and trends of dismissing educational pursuits in favor of lucrative multi billion dollar contracts and sponsorship deals will be stemmed.

I noticed that Ray's accomplishment was relegated to a mere "blip" on the radar screens of both ESPN and local D.C. Metro news outlets.

* * *

Last Tuesday, (May 18th), the world bid farewell to Mr. Tony Randall aka "Love Sydney" - our society's first television show about a single parent figure living an alternative lifestyle.

I enjoyed re-runs of both the Tony Randall show as well as The Odd Couple (I could always count on Oscar Madison & Felix Unger to make me laugh).

May he rest in peace, he will surely be missed.

* * *

This past Saturday, my play older brother matriculated from BSU - Home of the Bulldogs. The ceremony was held outdoors where the weather cooperated for approximately 90 minutes. From that point forward we were scorched, in 90-degree record heat, and oh yes, lest I forget, the constant hum of Brood X Cicadas.

Despite the heat, humidity, scant cool breeze, and serenading Cicadas, we could not have been more proud of his accomplishments. It was a 10-year journey for him to cross that stage. A timeframe, during which he served his country in the U.S. Army, wed his sweetheart, subsequently fathered and is rearing 4 children with the help of his devoted wife, while presently serving as a officer of the law for the city of Annapolis.

The most poignant moment was an impromptu family photo taken under an oak tree on campus. Imagine if you will, a proud daddy dressed in graduation regalia flanked on both sides by his elated children, adoring wife and proud mother.

His special day was marked by smiles, hugs and LOTS of respect for a man who had a dream and refused to give up.

* * *

As of today, I have 3 more days left to work in my office. I have completed as much work as I can, and am sitting here trying to remain awake and alert - a task, which seems easier said than done.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -