9:47 a.m. - 2004-05-15
05-15-04

Saturday is the 29th running of the Preakness.

This year there is only 1 Maryland horse - born, bred and trained right here. While Imperialism isn't favored to win, many native Marylanders are keeping their fingers crossed that both horse and jockey are able to at least put forth a decent showing.

My money is on Smarty Jones.

* * *

We are approaching the 50th Anniversary of Brown v. The Board of Education. There is a great deal of buzz here in the D.C. Metro area. It seems most people don't think that we've reached a level of equality in education. Moreover some feel we're regressing - one has only to take a look at violence in the District's school system, lack of textbooks and resource materials, and mounting shortages of adequately trained teachers.

I think the compensation scale for professionals in Education needs to be revamped. If these hard working folks were paid more, the field of education ideally speaking, would attracter better, brighter candidates.

...just my 2 cents.

* * *

I found out that I passed my Econ exam (Yes, the very same exam I thought I flunked).

* * *

My Sociology 300 course is turning into one of my most favorite classes. I think this is in part due to the fact that I've got at least 2 other classmates who come to class week after week with a productive issue to discuss; AND each of them offers educational insights into our general class room discussions.

This is one of those classes where the syngery level is high. It seems like we all "get" each other, and when we happen to disagree, we're all mature enough to accept the maxim that every individual is entitled to his own opinion.

When I intially began this class I disliked it. All I can say is "What a difference 7 weeks can make."

* * *

I'm nowhere near ready to wear a bathing suit, but I've got "beach on the brain"!

* * *

I've got 8 more days left to work in my office!

Yahoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

* * *


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -