8:53 p.m. - 2004-05-01
05-01-2004

May Day! May Day...

Not like when an aircraft is in distress, but that special day when you wrap the May pole and play games and have a good time.

Hmmm�

What is the origin of May Day?

I did a bit of checking and here�s what I discovered�

May Day is an ancient Druid holiday. It is primarily practiced by the Celts in the British Isles. It involves dancing around a May Pole, creating garlands and bowers of flowers, playing of bagpipes and drums to traditional Morris dances, and in general, celebration of the beginning of summer.

Beltaine or La Baal Tinne, as the Irish call it, begins at sundown on April 28th and lasts for three days. At sundown Druid priests light fires atop the nearest beacon hill, to mark the beginning of the celebrations. Revelers jump naked through the fires, which confer healing properties and protection. Herds of cattle are often driven between two of these fires before the journey to their summer pastures.

May Day also signifies the rite of passage into adulthood. Young men and women stay out in the forest to greet the May sunrise, making flower garlands to carry back and decorate the village. Since so many young women returned home pregnant the Puritans outlawed this custom in 1644.

Another May Day custom involving young love, is one where young men leave evergreen boughs on the windows and doors of their friends' houses. There was a language of leaves as well as of flowers, a thorn branch meant scorn and mountain ash signified love.

May Day is sacred to Robin Hood and Maid Marian, as Robin Hood was said to have died on that day. Archery contests, perhaps in his memory, are often a part of May Day celebrations.

Willow, either pussy willow, or weeping willow, is a tree sacred to May Day and the elements of water and the moon. It's also associated with the Goddess of the hunt (Arianrhod, Diana or Artemis). Willow is the natural source of aspirin and has many healing qualities. Willow is also associated with death, femininity, and love. Willow wood is good for making magical harps.

Very interesting�

Some of my research indicated that May Day is a Wiccan holiday. I can�t be certain, but either way (in my opinion), it was worth doing the research.

I learned something both in Econ class today, and this evening (regarding May Day).

* * *

Last night we had a �may day� of the distress type. We�d retired for the evening, when all of a sudden Mw asks me if I hear the sound of rushing water. I manage to pull myself out of a deep sleep and realize I do hear a rushing sound.

I spring out of bed, check the rear of the house, next the bathroom, then the laundry room and storage room. The whoosing sound seems to get loudest in the laundry room / storage room area. I am getting worried.

I run back to the bathroom to check the valve on the toilet, it is tight and secure, so nope, the problem is not there.

I hear Mw opening the front door then the storm door. I can tell by the distant sound in her voice, she�s out in the front yard. I run to join her.

We gaze at the sidewalk, it appears to be moving. We can see sediment and silt built up alongside the grass. Small eddys form around the tires of our cars.

I yell to Mw "call WSSC, this is an emergency".�

Little did we know then, the HOT water main had ruptured.

WSSC responded within 30 minutes and worked through the night to repair the rupture. I am quite grateful for their efforts.

* * *

Today while driving to school, I began thinking about how luxurious it is to live in America. Water main ruptures we call for assistance and it�s repaired *snap* *snap* �Just like that.� A skilled crew works through the night while residents try to sleep. We awaken to diminished water pressure, but we have hot water nonetheless.

Almost like we didn�t miss a beat!

There is nothing in this life that I can truly complain about.

Sure there are situations and people that can be less than favorable, yet I can�t say that I have it bad. I�ve survived and overcome a rough past, but overall I have so very much to be thankful and grateful for.

* * *


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -